Home team Away Team

Worcester


  • Penalty goals: Goode (4),
12 - 3

Saracens


  • Penalty goals: Mordt,
  • Aviva Premiership
  • 23rd Nov 2012
  • KO 20:00
  • Ground: Sixways Stadium

Aviva Premiership: Worcester have Goode to thank

Last updated: 23rd November 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Nils Mordt Saracens

Nils Mordt: Unable to convert three penalty attempts

 ANDY GOODE

Andy Goode: Added a drop goal to three penalties for Worcester

Related links

Teams

Also see

Saracens missed the chance to go top of the Aviva Premiership after going down 12-3 to Worcester in a poor match at Sixways.

The visitors could have pulled off an unmerited win had Nils Mordt and Sam Stanley not missed four routine penalties.

Neither side showed enough attacking flair to threaten the try-line but the home pack were the better of the pair, enabling Andy Goode to kick three penalties and a drop goal.

Warriors benefited from having only one player missing on international duty to Sarries' eight - and were rewarded for a stronger opening as Goode slotted a 30-metre kick.

Mordt was off target moments later from further out before Worcester lost young centre Joe Carlisle to injury.

Mordt did bring the scores level but Goode kicked the home side back in front after failing to pierce the uprights when Saracens infringed at the ruck.

The visiting fly-half missed again from 35m midway through the first half and Worcester went further ahead after a Ben Ransom kick was charged down - the resulting pressure allowing Goode to pick off a drop goal.

He extended the lead to 12-3 with another penalty before the interval and although Saracens dominated the first 10 minutes after the re-start, they were unable to capitalise.

Mordt missed again on 51 minutes when his 30m effort hit a post while Goode also missed with another drop goal attempt and a shot from the tee.

The unfortunate Mordt was removed inside the last 15 minutes but his replacement fared little better - Stanley missing from 30m to deprive his side a bonus point.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Saracens Fixtures
TimeFixture
Saracens
Saturday 27th December
Aviva Premiership
15:00Newcastle Falcons vs Saracens
Saturday 3rd January
14:00Saracens vs London Irish
Friday 9th January
19:45Gloucester vs Saracens
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCSaracens vs Munster
Saturday 24th January
TBCClermont Auvergne vs Saracens
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00London Welsh vs Saracens
Saturday 7th February
15:00Saracens vs Exeter
Sunday 15th February
Aviva Premiership
15:00Saracens vs Bath
Saturday 21st February
14:00Sale vs Saracens
Saturday 28th February
15:00Saracens vs Newcastle
Sunday 8th March
14:00Wasps vs Saracens
Saturday 28th March
15:00Saracens vs Harlequins
Today's Results
Result
Saracens
Saturday 20th December
Aviva Premiership
Saracens 78 - 7 London Welsh
Saturday 13th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saracens 28 - 15 Sale Sharks
Saturday 6th December
Sale Sharks 15 - 19 Saracens
Saturday 29th November
Aviva Premiership
Exeter 27 - 19 Saracens
Sunday 23rd November
Saracens 24 - 31 Northampton
Sunday 16th November
Leicester Tigers 21 - 21 Saracens
Friday 7th November
LV= Cup
Ospreys 9 - 21 Saracens

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com