Home team Away Team

Worcester


  • Penalty goals: Goode (4),
12 - 3

Saracens


  • Penalty goals: Mordt,

Aviva Premiership: Worcester have Goode to thank

Last updated: 23rd November 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Nils Mordt Saracens

Nils Mordt: Unable to convert three penalty attempts

 ANDY GOODE

Andy Goode: Added a drop goal to three penalties for Worcester

Related links

Teams

Also see

Saracens missed the chance to go top of the Aviva Premiership after going down 12-3 to Worcester in a poor match at Sixways.

The visitors could have pulled off an unmerited win had Nils Mordt and Sam Stanley not missed four routine penalties.

Neither side showed enough attacking flair to threaten the try-line but the home pack were the better of the pair, enabling Andy Goode to kick three penalties and a drop goal.

Warriors benefited from having only one player missing on international duty to Sarries' eight - and were rewarded for a stronger opening as Goode slotted a 30-metre kick.

Mordt was off target moments later from further out before Worcester lost young centre Joe Carlisle to injury.

Mordt did bring the scores level but Goode kicked the home side back in front after failing to pierce the uprights when Saracens infringed at the ruck.

The visiting fly-half missed again from 35m midway through the first half and Worcester went further ahead after a Ben Ransom kick was charged down - the resulting pressure allowing Goode to pick off a drop goal.

He extended the lead to 12-3 with another penalty before the interval and although Saracens dominated the first 10 minutes after the re-start, they were unable to capitalise.

Mordt missed again on 51 minutes when his 30m effort hit a post while Goode also missed with another drop goal attempt and a shot from the tee.

The unfortunate Mordt was removed inside the last 15 minutes but his replacement fared little better - Stanley missing from 30m to deprive his side a bonus point.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Saracens Fixtures
TimeFixture
Saracens
Saturday 29th November
Aviva Premiership
16:30Exeter vs Saracens
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
13:00Sale vs Saracens
Saturday 13th December
17:15Saracens vs Sale
Saturday 20th December
Aviva Premiership
15:00Saracens vs London Welsh
Saturday 27th December
15:00Newcastle vs Saracens
Saturday 3rd January
15:00Saracens vs London Irish
Saturday 10th January
15:00Gloucester vs Saracens
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCSaracens vs Munster
Saturday 24th January
TBCClermont Auvergne vs Saracens
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00London Welsh vs Saracens
Saturday 7th February
15:00Saracens vs Exeter
Sunday 15th February
Aviva Premiership
15:00Saracens vs Bath
Saturday 21st February
14:00Sale vs Saracens
Saturday 28th February
15:00Saracens vs Newcastle
Today's Results
Result
Saracens
Sunday 23rd November
Aviva Premiership
Saracens 24 - 31 Northampton
Sunday 16th November
Leicester Tigers 21 - 21 Saracens
Friday 7th November
LV= Cup
Ospreys 9 - 21 Saracens
Sunday 2nd November
Saracens 25 - 20 Harlequins
Friday 24th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Munster 14 - 3 Saracens
Saturday 18th October
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont Auvergne
Saturday 11th October
Aviva Premiership
Saracens 28 - 21 Gloucester

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com