Home team Away Team

Munster

  • Sherry, Stander,
    Penalty goals: Keatley (6),
    Conversions: Keatley,
30 - 3

Edinburgh


  • Penalty goals: Francis,

RaboDirect Pro12: Muster score easy win over Edinburgh

Last updated: 9th February 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

ian keatley munster

Ian Keatley (red shirt). Scored 20 points for Munster

CJ Stander

CJ Stander: Late try for Munster

Related links

Preview

Report

Teams

Also see

Munster defeated Edinburgh for the fourth time this season with a dominant 30-3 victory in their RaboDirect PRO12 encounter at Musgrave Park.

Man of the match Ian Keatley kicked 20 points, with tries in the final quarter from CJ Stander and Mike Sherry capping off the home win.

A Piers Francis penalty gave Edinburgh an early lead and the Scottish team were only 6-3 behind at the break, but Keatley's right boot pushed the hosts out of sight in the Cork rain after the interval.

Munster opened the second half on the front foot and a third Keatley penalty gave them a six-point buffer after Willem Nel infringed in a scrum.

The showery conditions made for a scrappy encounter and each penalty kick was becoming increasingly important.

Munster's stand-in captain Jamie Coughlan was caught by a high tackle from Rees and Keatley slotted the resulting kick from a central position.

The province's direct style forced further mistakes from territory-starved Edinburgh and a fifth successful strike from Keatley had his side 15-3 ahead by the hour mark.

A sixth followed from the fly-half before a pinpoint Hanrahan pass sent Ivan Dineen scurrying up the right touchline. He kicked ahead for the supporting Stander, who went over unopposed for a 68th-minute converted try.

Munster, who did the double on Edinburgh in the Heineken Cup pool stages, crossed again with five minutes remaining - replacement hooker Sherry scrambling past Netani Talei after an assist from Stander.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - October 12 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 6 5
Forthcoming Edinburgh Fixtures
TimeFixture
Edinburgh
Friday 31st October
Guinness PRO12
19:35Leinster vs Edinburgh
Sunday 23rd November
16:00Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues
Saturday 29th November
16:00Zebre vs Edinburgh
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCEdinburgh vs London Welsh
Saturday 13th December
TBCLondon Welsh vs Edinburgh
Friday 19th December
Guinness PRO12
19:35Edinburgh vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 27th December
14:40Glasgow vs Edinburgh
Friday 9th January
19:35Connacht vs Edinburgh
Wednesday 14th January
TBCEdinburgh vs Ospreys
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCLOU Rugby vs Edinburgh
Saturday 24th January
TBCEdinburgh vs Bordeaux-Begles
Today's Results
Result
Edinburgh
Friday 24th October
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Edinburgh 25 - 17 LOU Rugby
Friday 17th October
Bordeaux-Begles 13 - 15 Edinburgh
Saturday 11th October
Guinness PRO12
Edinburgh 24 - 10 Newport Gwent D'gons
Friday 3rd October
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Friday 26th September
Edinburgh 20 - 20 Scarlets
Sunday 21st September
Ospreys 62 - 13 Edinburgh
Friday 12th September
Edinburgh 13 - 14 Connacht

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com