Home team Away Team

Connacht

  • McSharry,
    Penalty goals: Parks (5),
    Conversions: Parks,
22 - 30

Harlequins

  • Care (2),
    Penalty goals: Botica (6),
    Conversions: Botica,

Heineken Cup: Harlequins battle past Connacht

Last updated: 22nd October 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Dave McSharry Connacht

Dave McSharry: early try for Connacht

 Nick Easter Harlequins v Connacht Heineken Cup 1024

Nick Easter charges forward during Harlequins' win over Connacht at the Sportsgrounds

Related links

News

Teams

Harlequins have gone clear at the top of Heineken Cup Pool 3 after a 30-22 victory over Connacht in Galway.

The English champions missed out on a place in the knock-out stages on the same ground last season but gained a measure of revenge against a fired-up Connacht side.

Both sides played plenty of attacking rugby with ball-in-hand but ultimately it was Quins' superiority up front and dominance of the gain-line which proved the difference.

Ben Botica - standing in for the injured Nick Evans - edged Harlequins ahead as they dominated the opening exchanges before Connacht scored a try out of the blue, with Dan Parks firing a long pass for Dave McSharry to arrive on a superb attacking line, burst through the defence and race under the posts.

Parks converted but Botica quickly cut the deficit to a point and added another penalty, although it was Connacht who were moving the scoreboard on a regular basis.

Four times they ventured into the Quins 22 and four times Parks kicked penalties to give the hosts a handy lead at 19-9.

But the last 10 minutes of the half turned the game on its head. From a scrum in front of the posts, Danny Care showed quick thinking and even quicker feet to scoot from the base and score unopposed.

Three minutes from the interval off quick lineout ball, Mike Brown's break sucked in defenders, Nick Easter burst up the middle and when the ball was recycled, Care sniped over from a metre out.

Another Botica penalty edged Quins 24-19 ahead at the break and the second half was all about control from the English champions.

They barely gave Connacht a sniff of a chance and although Parks knocked over his sixth kick from six attempts, two more Botica penalties kept Quins at arm's length and even denied Connacht a bonus point that was the very least their efforts deserved.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Connacht Fixtures
TimeFixture
Connacht
Friday 31st October
Guinness PRO12
19:35Ospreys vs Connacht
Friday 21st November
19:35Connacht vs Zebre
Saturday 29th November
19:30Connacht vs Scarlets
British and Irish Cup
19:00London Scottish vs Connacht
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCConnacht vs Bayonne
British and Irish Cup
14:30Pontypridd vs Connacht
Saturday 13th December
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCBayonne vs Connacht
British and Irish Cup
14:30Connacht vs Bristol
Friday 19th December
Guinness PRO12
19:35Leinster vs Connacht
Saturday 27th December
TBCUlster vs Connacht
Friday 9th January
19:35Connacht vs Edinburgh
Wednesday 14th January
TBCScarlets vs Connacht
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCConnacht vs Exeter
Saturday 24th January
TBCLa Rochelle vs Connacht
Today's Results
Result
Connacht
Saturday 25th October
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Exeter 33 - 13 Connacht
British and Irish Cup
Connacht 30 - 27 London Scottish
Sunday 19th October
Connacht 16 - 42 Pontypridd
Saturday 18th October
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Connacht 48 - 12 La Rochelle
Sunday 12th October
British and Irish Cup
Bristol 50 - 34 Connacht
Friday 10th October
Guinness PRO12
Benetton Treviso 6 - 9 Connacht
Friday 3rd October
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday 26th September
Glasgow 39 - 21 Connacht
Friday 19th September
Connacht 10 - 9 Leinster
Friday 12th September
Edinburgh 13 - 14 Connacht

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com