Home team Away Team

Ulster

  • Penalty, Williams, Marshall,
    Penalty goals: Jackson (2),
    Conversions: Jackson (2),
25 - 0

Connacht

RaboDirect PRO12: Ulster maintain perfect start by thrashing Connacht

Last updated: 5th October 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Nick Williams

Nick Williams: Scored Ulster's second try

Paddy Jackson Ulster

Paddy Jackson (top): Scored 10 points with the boot

Related links

Teams

Also see

Ulster stayed top of the RaboDirect PRO12 table after maintaining their perfect start to the season with a 25-0 win over Connacht at Ravenhill.

The Heineken Cup runners-up built their victory on a dominant scrum, which earned them a penalty try in the first half.

Nick Williams also touched down following a set piece and substitute Luke Marshall added a third try in the closing minutes, while fly-half Paddy Jackson kicked 10 points

The contest was Ulster's first at home since the farming tragedy which claimed the life of centre Nevin Spence and a minute's silence was held before kick-off.

Ulster opened the scoring after 10 minutes with a Jackson penalty as the hosts' powerful scrum began to make its presence felt.

Later in the half, a series of scrums near the Connacht line led first to Dave Gannon being sin-binned and then to the penalty try being awarded. Jackson converted to make it 10-0.

The game was effectively killed off on the stroke of half time when Williams drove over after referee George Clancy had reversed a penalty against Connacht and Ulster had put the ball into the corner.

Jackson's conversion made it 17-0 and in the second half the visitors did not threaten an improbable comeback, with the stand-off adding another penalty before Tommy Bowe won a 78th-minute cross-kick from Paddy Wallace and substitute Luke Marshall skidded in for an unconverted try.

Connacht had a chance to get on the board before half-time but Dan Parks missed his attempt, while a line break from Robbie Henshaw was one of their only other moments of attacking inspiration.

Ulster's victory keeps them one point ahead of the Scarlets in the table with a game in hand over the Welsh side.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - October 12 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 6 5
Forthcoming Ulster Fixtures
TimeFixture
Ulster
Friday 24th October
British and Irish Cup
19:00Ulster vs Rotherham Titans
Saturday 25th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
13:00Ulster vs Toulon
Saturday 1st November
Guinness PRO12
TBCUlster vs Newport Gwent D'gons
Friday 21st November
19:35Ulster vs Ospreys
Friday 28th November
19:35Munster vs Ulster
Saturday 29th November
British and Irish Cup
14:00Rotherham Titans vs Ulster
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCUlster vs Scarlets
Sunday 7th December
British and Irish Cup
14:30Yorkshire Carnegie vs Ulster
Saturday 13th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCScarlets vs Ulster
British and Irish Cup
14:30Ulster vs Aberavon
Saturday 20th December
Guinness PRO12
17:15Ospreys vs Ulster
Saturday 27th December
TBCUlster vs Connacht
Saturday 3rd January
14:40Leinster vs Ulster
Saturday 10th January
TBCBenetton Treviso vs Ulster
Wednesday 14th January
TBCUlster vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCToulon vs Ulster
Saturday 24th January
TBCUlster vs Leicester
Today's Results
Result
Ulster
Saturday 18th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Leicester 25 - 18 Ulster
British and Irish Cup
Ulster 17 - 22 Yorkshire Carnegie
Saturday 11th October
Guinness PRO12
Ulster 29 - 9 Glasgow
British and Irish Cup
Aberavon 18 - 14 Ulster
Friday 3rd October
Guinness PRO12
Ulster 30 - 0 Edinburgh
Saturday 27th September
Zebre 13 - 6 Ulster
Friday 19th September
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Friday 12th September
Ulster 33 - 13 Zebre
Saturday 6th September
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com