Home team Away Team

Newport-Gwent D'gons

  • Tuilagi,
    Penalty goals: Prydie (4),
    Conversions: Prydie,
19 - 46

Ulster

  • Trimble, Pienaar, Cave, Court, Payne, Williams,
    Penalty goals: Pienaar (2),
    Conversions: Pienaar (5),
  • Guinness PRO12
  • 26th Oct 2012
  • KO 19:05
  • Ground: Rodney Parade, Newport
  • Att: 5,057

Ulster douse Dragons' fire and stay top of RaboDirect PRO12

Last updated: 26th October 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Darren Cave Rob Hawkins

Darren Cave: crossed for the bonus-point try

ruan pienaar

Ruan Pienaar: 21 points for the Ulster fly-half

Related links

Teams

RaboDirect PRO12 leaders Ulster claimed their sixth win from six league games so far this season with a 46-19 victory over Dragons at Rodney Parade.

The visitors ran in six tries to earn a bonus-point victory that leaves the Dragons just one place off the foot of the table.

The Dragons made a fast start and led 6-0 thanks to a brace of early penalties by full-back Tom Prydie, but Ulster struck back on 16 minutes when Ruan Pienaar made a break inside the hosts' 22 and offloaded for Ireland prop Tom Court to go under the posts, making the South African's conversion an easy one.

The game swung back the Dragons' way thanks to a converted try by Samoan centre Andy Tuilagi, before Ulster number eight Nick Williams' close range score.

Prydie's penalty inched the hosts back in front only for his clearance to be charged down by Pienaar, who dived on the ball over the line for Ulster's third try as the visitors led 19-16 at the break.

Despite a Prydie penalty early on, the second-half was almost all one-way traffic as Pienaar slotted over a pair of penalties to get Ulster underway again.

And it was all over entering the final quarter thanks to tries by centre Darren Cave, from close in, and wing Andrew Trimble, who intercepted on halfway before dashing between the posts.

Pienaar converted both for a 39-19 lead before replacement centre Jared Payne added the icing to the cake two minutes from time.

Ulster have now won all eight of their games this season - they are also two for two in the Heineken Cup - and look every inch contenders for a European and domestic double.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - November 23 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 8 5
Forthcoming Ulster Fixtures
TimeFixture
Ulster
Friday 28th November
Guinness PRO12
19:35Munster vs Ulster
Saturday 29th November
British and Irish Cup
14:00Rotherham Titans vs Ulster
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
19:45Ulster vs Scarlets
Sunday 7th December
British and Irish Cup
14:30Yorkshire Carnegie vs Ulster
Saturday 13th December
14:30Ulster vs Aberavon
Sunday 14th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
17:15Scarlets vs Ulster
Saturday 20th December
Guinness PRO12
17:15Ospreys vs Ulster
Saturday 27th December
TBCUlster vs Connacht
Saturday 3rd January
14:40Leinster vs Ulster
Saturday 10th January
TBCBenetton Treviso vs Ulster
Wednesday 14th January
TBCUlster vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCToulon vs Ulster
Saturday 24th January
TBCUlster vs Leicester
Saturday 21st February
Guinness PRO12
TBCEdinburgh vs Ulster
Saturday 28th February
TBCUlster vs Scarlets
Today's Results
Result
Ulster
Friday 21st November
Guinness PRO12
Ulster 25 - 16 Ospreys
Saturday 1st November
Ulster 23 - 6 Newport Gwent D'gons
Saturday 25th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Ulster 13 - 23 Toulon
Friday 24th October
British and Irish Cup
Ulster 29 - 31 Rotherham Titans
Saturday 18th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Leicester 25 - 18 Ulster
British and Irish Cup
Ulster 17 - 22 Yorkshire Carnegie
Saturday 11th October
Guinness PRO12
Ulster 29 - 9 Glasgow
British and Irish Cup
Aberavon 18 - 14 Ulster

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com