Home team Away Team

Leinster

  • Madigan, McGrath,
    Penalty goals: Madigan,
    Conversions: Madigan (2),
17 - 0

Connacht

RaboDirect PRO12: Ian Madigan helps Leinster defeat Connacht

Last updated: 29th December 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

 Dan Parks - Connacht

Dan Parks: missed a penalty for the visitors in the 14th minute

 Ian Madigan Leinster

Ian Madigan: scored a try and kicked two conversions and a penalty for the hosts

Related links

Teams

Also see

Tries from Ian Madigan and Jack McGrath gave Leinster a 17-0 victory over RaboDirect PRO12 rivals Connacht at the RDS.

The reigning Heineken Cup champions recorded their first triumph in four outings to make sure they would end 2012 on a high note.

Connacht had a strong wind at their backs in the opening half, but failed to register any score to reflect their dominance of territory.

Danie Poolman just miscued a grubber kick as he latched onto a cross-field delivery from Dan Parks and Leinster snatched a crucial turnover after a dangerous catch and run from Robbie Henshaw.

Parks also pulled a 14th minute penalty attempt wide and they paid the price as Leinster finally broke the deadlock just after the half-hour mark.

It was left to fly-half Madigan to clinically pick off a converted try closing in on the break, profiting from his own quickly taken penalty.

The number 10 added a tricky conversion from the right and also kicked a penalty in the second half to take the home team into double figures.

They had looked set to notch a second try shortly before, only for Devin Toner to be held up over the try-line. Connacht held out though, winning a turnover from the resulting scrum.

However, McGrath, supported by Toner, thundered over to the right of the posts to make certain of the result, and only some superb defensive work from the visitors stopped Adam Byrne from adding a third try late on.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - November 1 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 7 5
Forthcoming Leinster Fixtures
TimeFixture
Leinster
Sunday 23rd November
Guinness PRO12
14:30Treviso vs Leinster
Saturday 29th November
17:15Leinster vs Ospreys
British and Irish Cup
13:00Leinster vs Carmarthen Quins
Saturday 6th December
15:00Jersey vs Leinster
Sunday 7th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
15:15Harlequins vs Leinster
Saturday 13th December
19:45Leinster vs Harlequins
British and Irish Cup
15:00Leinster vs Plymouth Albion
Friday 19th December
Guinness PRO12
19:35Leinster vs Connacht
Friday 26th December
17:00Munster vs Leinster
Saturday 3rd January
14:40Leinster vs Ulster
Saturday 10th January
14:40Cardiff Blues vs Leinster
Wednesday 14th January
TBCLeinster vs Newport Gwent D'gons
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCLeinster vs Castres
Saturday 24th January
TBCWasps vs Leinster
Saturday 21st February
Guinness PRO12
TBCLeinster vs Zebre
Saturday 28th February
TBCOspreys vs Leinster
Today's Results
Result
Leinster
Friday 31st October
Guinness PRO12
Leinster 33 - 8 Edinburgh
Sunday 26th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Castres 16 - 21 Leinster
Saturday 25th October
British and Irish Cup
Carmarthen Quins 26 - 24 Leinster
Sunday 19th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Leinster 25 - 20 Wasps
Friday 17th October
British and Irish Cup
Leinster 26 - 6 Jersey
Saturday 11th October
Guinness PRO12
Zebre 3 - 20 Leinster
British and Irish Cup
Plymouth Albion 24 - 31 Leinster
Saturday 4th October
Guinness PRO12
Leinster 23 - 34 Munster

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com