Home team Away Team

Exeter

  • Penalty, Clark,
    Penalty goals: Steenson (2),
    Conversions: Steenson (2),
20 - 29

Leinster

  • O'Driscoll, D'Arcy, Heaslip, Kearney,
    Penalty goals: Sexton,
    Conversions: Sexton (3),

Heineken Cup: Leinster can still qualify for the quarter-finals after beating Exeter

Last updated: 20th January 2013   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Neil Clark

Neil Clark: gave Leinster food for thought with a first-half score at Sandy Park

Gordon D Arcy

Gordon D'Arcy: scored one of Leinster's first-half tries in their bonus-point win

Related links

Teams

Also see

European champions Leinster retained hope of qualifying for the quarter-finals of the Heineken Cup after securing a 29-20 win over Exeter Chiefs.

The visitors needed to score four tries at Sandy Park to have any hope of claiming one of the two best runners-up qualification spots for the last eight.

A bonus-point win for Munster against Racing Metro on Sunday would see Leinster drop into the Amlin Cup, but for now the holders have given themselves a fighting chance.

Gordon D'Arcy and Rob Kearney crossed for first-half tries before Brian O'Driscoll scored their third of the game, crucially their fourth came in the 53rd minute through Jamie Heaslip.

Exeter led 17-12 at half time thanks to Neil Clark's 17th minute try while they were also awarded a penalty try in the 34th minute, Gareth Steenson added both conversions.

Leinster regained the lead early in the second half with a try from O'Driscoll, converted by Johnny Sexton - who then added the extras to the bonus point try which followed quickly through Ireland skipper Heaslip.

Steenson replied with a penalty which was cancelled out by Sexton before the Chiefs had Ben White sent to the sin bin in the closing minutes, while Leinster's Mike Ross was also yellow carded soon after.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet
Forthcoming Leinster Fixtures
TimeFixture
Leinster
Saturday 25th October
British and Irish Cup
14:30Carmarthen Quins vs Leinster
Sunday 26th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
13:00Castres vs Leinster
Friday 31st October
Guinness PRO12
19:35Leinster vs Edinburgh
Sunday 23rd November
14:30Benetton Treviso vs Leinster
Saturday 29th November
17:15Leinster vs Ospreys
British and Irish Cup
15:00Leinster vs Carmarthen Quins
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCHarlequins vs Leinster
British and Irish Cup
15:00Jersey vs Leinster
Saturday 13th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCLeinster vs Harlequins
British and Irish Cup
15:00Leinster vs Plymouth Albion
Friday 19th December
Guinness PRO12
19:35Leinster vs Connacht
Friday 26th December
17:00Munster vs Leinster
Saturday 3rd January
14:40Leinster vs Ulster
Saturday 10th January
14:40Cardiff Blues vs Leinster
Wednesday 14th January
TBCLeinster vs Newport Gwent D'gons
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCLeinster vs Castres
Saturday 24th January
TBCWasps vs Leinster
Today's Results
Result
Leinster
Sunday 19th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Leinster 25 - 20 Wasps
Friday 17th October
British and Irish Cup
Leinster 26 - 6 Jersey
Saturday 11th October
Guinness PRO12
Zebre 3 - 20 Leinster
British and Irish Cup
Plymouth Albion 24 - 31 Leinster
Saturday 4th October
Guinness PRO12
Leinster 23 - 34 Munster
Friday 26th September
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday 19th September
Connacht 10 - 9 Leinster
Saturday 13th September
Leinster 42 - 12 Scarlets
Saturday 6th September
Glasgow 22 - 20 Leinster

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com