Home team Away Team

Scarlets

  • Phillips,
    Penalty goals: Thomas (5),
    Conversions: Thomas,
22 - 13

Zebre

  • Pratichetti,
    Penalty goals: Halangahu (2),
    Conversions: Halangahu,
  • Guinness PRO12
  • 3rd Nov 2012
  • KO 18:30
  • Ground: Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli
  • Att: 5,757

RaboDirect Pro12: Kristian Phillips and Aled Thomas help Scarlets see off Zebre

Last updated: 3rd November 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Kristian Phillips scarlets

Kristian Phillips: scored on his debut for Scarlets

Aled Thomas Scarlets 2012

Aled Thomas: Kicked 17 points in Scarlets win

Related links

Teams

Also see

Scarlets have gone second in the RaboDirect Pro12 table after a 22-13 home win over Zebre.

However, the west Wales region made quite hard work of beating the winless Italian side, debutant wing Kristian Phillips scoring the only try while outside-half Aled Thomas kicked 17 points.

The Scarlets were without all 12 of their Wales squad players, giving former Ospreys duo Phillips and Gareth Owen a chance to start.

And the visitors took the lead on 13 minutes when Daniel Halangahu kicked a penalty after prop Deacon Manu had transgressed at a ruck.

Owen and Italy flanker Filippo Ferrarini were then yellow-carded by referee Dudley Phillips for an off-the-ball scrap before Thomas levelled with a three-pointer on 36 minutes.

Zebre led 6-3 at the interval thanks to another Halangahu penalty but the hosts began to take charge after the break and Zebre lost Tito Tebaldi to the sin-bin.

Thomas kicked a pair of penalties to make it 9-6 but Zebre launched a counter attack after the Scarlets had lost ball in the Italian 22 and centre Matteo Pratichetti dived over for a converted try.

But the Scarlets cut the deficit with a fourth penalty for Thomas and Phillips then sped over in the right corner after Zebre had failed to gather a box kick from replacement scrum-half Aled Davies.

Thomas converted the try and then put over his fifth penalty two minutes from time to take Zebre out of losing bonus point range.

RaboDirect Pro 12. Click here to bet.

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - December 21 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 10 9
Forthcoming Scarlets Fixtures
TimeFixture
Scarlets
Saturday 27th December
Guinness PRO12
17:15Ospreys vs Scarlets
Saturday 3rd January
17:05Scarlets vs Ospreys
Friday 9th January
19:35Glasgow vs Scarlets
Wednesday 14th January
TBCScarlets vs Connacht
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCLeicester vs Scarlets
Saturday 24th January
TBCScarlets vs Toulon
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00Scarlets vs London Irish
Saturday 7th February
15:00Sale vs Scarlets
Saturday 21st February
Guinness PRO12
14:40Scarlets vs Munster
Saturday 28th February
TBCUlster vs Scarlets
Saturday 7th March
TBCScarlets vs Leinster
Saturday 28th March
TBCScarlets vs Edinburgh
Today's Results
Result
Scarlets
Friday 19th December
Guinness PRO12
Cardiff Blues 21 - 9 Scarlets
Sunday 14th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
Scarlets 22 - 13 Ulster
Saturday 6th December
Ulster 24 - 9 Scarlets
Saturday 29th November
Guinness PRO12
Connacht 14 - 8 Scarlets
Friday 21st November
Scarlets 19 - 9 Glasgow Warriors
Friday 14th November
LV= Cup
Cardiff Blues 19 - 13 Scarlets
Friday 7th November
Scarlets 7 - 24 Northampton

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com