Home team Away Team

Scarlets

  • Stoddart, Maule,
    Penalty goals: Thomas (3), Priestland,
    Conversions: Thomas,
24 - 13

Newport-Gwent D'gons

  • Hughes,
    Penalty goals: Prydie, Jones,
    Conversions: Prydie,
  • Guinness PRO12
  • 5th Oct 2012
  • KO 19:05
  • Ground: Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli
  • Att: 7,863

Scarlets earn scrappy 24-13 RaboDirect PRO12 victory over Welsh rivals Newport Gwent Dragons

Last updated: 5th October 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Gareth Maule Scarlets

Gareth Maule: Scored an opportunistic try for the hosts

Morgan Stoddart

Morgan Stoddart: Scored a try on his return after more than a year out through injury

Related links

Teams

Also see

Tries by Gareth Maule and Morgan Stoddart ensured Scarlets claimed a hard-fought 24-13 RaboDirect PRO12 victory over Newport Gwent Dragons at a rain-soaked Parc y Scarlets on Friday night.

Maule crossed in the first half for an opportunistic try after chasing up a loose ball from a missed penalty goal, while Stoddart came on at half-time to end more than year out with a broken leg, and soon went over in the left corner.

Outside-half Steffan Jones gave the Dragons the lead on 10 minutes with a long-range 45-metre penalty, which was cancelled out by his opposite number Aled Thomas six minutes later.

But an incisive break by in-form full-back Liam Williams led to another penalty opportunity. Although Thomas's kick hit a post and failed to go over, quick-thinking Maule followed up the loose ball to score in the left corner, with Thomas adding the extras.

That lead was extended as Thomas added further three-pointers on 34 and 38 minutes as the Scarlets eased into a 16-3 advantage.

The Dragons failed to get into the opposition 22 in the first half but they responded with 10 unanswered points after the break as first Tom Prydie, who took over the kicking duties from Jones, put over a penalty to cut the arrears.

That was followed by a try for wing Adam Hughes who slid in after Williams failed to deal with Dan Evans' grubber kick - Prydie converted to cut the Scarlets lead to three points.

But the Dragons comeback was nipped in the bud when scrum-half Jonathan Evans was sin-binned for a tackle off the ball. That allowed replacement fly-half

Rhys Priestland to put over a penalty on 66 minutes and 10 minutes from full-time Stoddart ran in for Scarlets' second and decisive try.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - October 12 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 6 5
Forthcoming Scarlets Fixtures
TimeFixture
Scarlets
Saturday 25th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
19:45Scarlets vs Leicester
Saturday 1st November
Guinness PRO12
18:00Scarlets vs Zebre
Friday 7th November
LV= Cup
19:30Scarlets vs Northampton
Friday 14th November
19:30Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets
Friday 21st November
Guinness PRO12
19:35Scarlets vs Glasgow
Saturday 29th November
19:30Connacht vs Scarlets
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCUlster vs Scarlets
Saturday 13th December
TBCScarlets vs Ulster
Friday 19th December
Guinness PRO12
19:35Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets
Saturday 27th December
17:15Ospreys vs Scarlets
Saturday 3rd January
17:05Scarlets vs Ospreys
Friday 9th January
19:35Glasgow vs Scarlets
Wednesday 14th January
TBCScarlets vs Connacht
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCLeicester vs Scarlets
Saturday 24th January
TBCScarlets vs Toulon
Today's Results
Result
Scarlets
Sunday 19th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Toulon 28 - 18 Scarlets
Friday 10th October
Guinness PRO12
Munster 17 - 6 Scarlets
Sunday 5th October
Scarlets 26 - 13 Newport Gwent D'gons
Friday 26th September
Edinburgh 20 - 20 Scarlets
Saturday 20th September
Scarlets 43 - 0 Benetton Treviso
Saturday 13th September
Leinster 42 - 12 Scarlets
Saturday 6th September
Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com