Home team Away Team

Cardiff Blues

  • Cuthbert,
    Penalty goals: Halfpenny (4),
    Conversions: Halfpenny,
19 - 21

Edinburgh

  • Penalty, Visser,
    Penalty goals: Laidlaw (2),
    Drop goals: Laidlaw,
    Conversions: Laidlaw,

Laidlaw ruins homecoming

Late drop goal gives Edinburgh the win at Arms Park

Last updated: 7th September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

Laidlaw ruins homecoming

Greg Laidlaw: Late drop goal secured the win for Edinburgh in Cardiff

Related links

Teams

Also see

Greg Laidlaw's late drop goal ruined Cardiff Blues' return to the Arms Park as Edinburgh ran out 21-19 winners in the RaboDirect Pro12.

The Blues had spent three years plying their trade at the Cardiff City Stadium but sparse crowds saw them cut short their 20-year lease to return to their spiritual home.

It was a move welcomed by supporters and they duly showed their approval by turning up in droves - the crowd of 7,800 was over 2,000 up on their average attendance last season.

On the pitch, the home side initially failed to rise to the occasion, falling behind to a Tim Visser try after the two sides had swapped early penalties.

The metronomic boot of Leigh Halfpenny ensured Blues reached half time with a 9-8 lead but it was not until the second half that the game really caught fire.

Sensational

Edinburgh nearly retook the lead as Visser chipped through only to run out of pitch as he attempted to ground the ball whilst at the other end Tom James was unlucky to slip as attempted to cut inside following a sensational break out of his own 22.

The home side eventually made the breakthrough after Edinburgh's Greig Tonks had been yellow carded, Alex Cuthbert slipping in underneath the posts and Halfpenny kicking the extras (50).

However, a Blues' yellow card for Josh Navidi allowed the visitors to ratchet up the pressure and they were rewarded with a penalty try on the hour mark.

A further Halfpenny penalty preserved the slenderest of leads for Cardiff and they were within two minutes of victory when Laidlaw struck to give Edinburgh their first win of the season.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - October 12 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 6 5
Forthcoming Cardiff Blues Fixtures
TimeFixture
Cardiff Blues
Saturday 25th October
European Rugby Challenge Cup
14:00Rovigo vs Cardiff Blues
Saturday 1st November
Guinness PRO12
17:15Cardiff Blues vs Munster
Friday 7th November
LV= Cup
20:00Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues
Friday 14th November
19:30Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets
Sunday 23rd November
Guinness PRO12
16:00Edinburgh vs Cardiff Blues
Friday 28th November
19:35Cardiff Blues vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCCardiff Blues vs London Irish
Saturday 13th December
TBCLondon Irish vs Cardiff Blues
Friday 19th December
Guinness PRO12
19:35Cardiff Blues vs Scarlets
Friday 26th December
14:05Cardiff Blues vs Newport Gwent D'gons
Saturday 10th January
14:40Cardiff Blues vs Leinster
Wednesday 14th January
TBCMunster vs Cardiff Blues
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCCardiff Blues vs Rovigo
Saturday 24th January
TBCGrenoble vs Cardiff Blues
Saturday 31st January
LV= Cup
15:00Wasps vs Cardiff Blues
Today's Results
Result
Cardiff Blues
Saturday 18th October
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Cardiff Blues 37 - 14 Grenoble
Sunday 12th October
Guinness PRO12
Ospreys 26 - 15 Cardiff Blues
Friday 3rd October
Connacht 24 - 24 Cardiff Blues
Friday 26th September
Leinster 37 - 23 Cardiff Blues
Friday 19th September
Cardiff Blues 9 - 26 Ulster
Sunday 14th September
Cardiff Blues 12 - 33 Glasgow
Sunday 7th September
Zebre 26 - 41 Cardiff Blues

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com