Home team Away Team

Exeter


  • Penalty goals: Steenson (4),
12 - 46

Clermont Auvergne

  • Bonnaire, Sivivatu, Vonowale-Nalaga (2), Fofana (2),
    Penalty goals: Parra (2),
    Conversions: Parra (3), Skrela (2),

Heineken Cup: Clermont Auvergne shine in second half to crush Exeter

Last updated: 20th October 2012  

Tom Hayes of Exeter Chiefs

Tom Hayes shows his back-handed passing skills

 exeter clermont

Damien Chouly of Clermont Auvergne hands off Matt Jess

Related links

News

Teams

Also see

Clermont Auvergne ripped Exeter apart in the second half to set up a 46-12 victory and hoist themselves to the top of Pool Five in the Heineken Cup.

The hosts were more than a match for last season's semi-finalists in the first half and looked comfortable with a 12-10 advantage at half-time thanks mainly to four Gareth Steenson penalties.

A Napolioni Nalaga try and the kicking of Morgan Parra were occasional bright sparks for the visitors, but few would have expected the capitulation after the break.

Five minutes into the second half a Parra penalty and a controversial Wesley Fofana score - video replays showed there was a foot in touch after a Tom Johnson half-tackle - had the French heavyweights leading again.

Wales full-back Lee Byrne set up flanker Julien Bonnaire to touch down for a 25-12 lead, but the Chiefs raised their tempo and battled for everything.

Yet Clermont responded in the most clinical fashion as they hunted a try-scoring bonus point in the final 10 minutes.

New Zealand international wing Sitiveni Sivivatu and Fofana scored tries to leave Exeter on the rack.

Just before the whistle Exeter's replacement fly-half Ignacio Mieres was yellow carded for a deliberate knock-on.

From the tap penalty Nalaga went over for his second try with Skrela adding the extras to pile on the misery for Exeter.

Heineken Cup. Click here to bet.
Forthcoming Exeter Fixtures
TimeFixture
Exeter
Friday 19th September
Aviva Premiership
19:45Gloucester vs Exeter
Sunday 28th September
14:00Exeter vs Harlequins
Sunday 5th October
15:00Newcastle vs Exeter
Saturday 11th October
15:00Exeter vs London Irish
Saturday 18th October
European Rugby Challenge Cup
19:00Bayonne vs Exeter
Saturday 25th October
15:00Exeter vs Connacht
Saturday 1st November
LV= Cup
15:00Newport Gwent D'gons vs Exeter
Saturday 8th November
15:00Exeter vs Bath
Saturday 15th November
Aviva Premiership
15:00Northampton vs Exeter
Saturday 22nd November
15:00Exeter vs Wasps
Saturday 29th November
15:00Exeter vs Saracens
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Challenge Cup
TBCLa Rochelle vs Exeter
Saturday 13th December
TBCExeter vs La Rochelle
Saturday 20th December
Aviva Premiership
14:00Sale vs Exeter
Saturday 27th December
15:00Bath vs Exeter
Today's Results
Result
Exeter
Saturday 13th September
Aviva Premiership
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Sunday 7th September
London Welsh 0 - 52 Exeter

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com