Home team Away Team

Benetton Treviso

  • Barbieri, Semenzato,
    Penalty goals: Burton, Di Bernardo,
    Conversions: Burton,
18 - 19

Leinster

  • O'Driscoll,
    Penalty goals: Sexton (3),
    Drop goals: Sexton,
    Conversions: Sexton,
  • Guinness PRO12
  • 15th Sep 2012
  • KO 18:05
  • Ground: Stadio Comunale di Monigo
  • Att: 5,000

Sexton drops in on Treviso

Leinster claim last-gasp win in Italy

Last updated: 15th September 2012   Subscribe to RSS Feed

fabio semenzato treviso v saracens HC 2011

Fabio Semenzato: late try proved in vain for Treviso

Jonathan Sexton of Leinster celebrates with Leinster Head Coach Joe Schmidt

Jonathan Sexton: Leinster fly-half held nerve with final kick of the game

Related links

Teams

Also see

Jonny Sexton landed a drop goal with the last kick of the game to give Leinster a 19-18 win at Treviso, a result that moves the Irish province into the top half of the RaboDirect PRO12 table.

On a night when Leinster welcomed their international contingent into the squad, it looked as though Treviso were going to record an impressive win when Fabio Semenzato crossed with a minute remaining, only for Sexton to split the posts with no time left.

It was tough on Treviso who looked good throughout and actually led 8-3 at the half-time interval.

Alberto Di Bernardo got them going with an early penalty and, when Kevin McLaughlin was sent to the sin-bin, Treviso cashed in, with Robert Barbieri going in from close range.

Sexton ensured Leinster were on the board at half-time, kicking a penalty, and after the break Brian O'Driscoll opened their try account when he went on an angled run that ended under the posts.

Sexton converted and then added a penalty, before Kris Burton reduced the gap to two points with a three-pointer.

It was immediately cancelled out by Sexton's next shot at goal, but when Semenzato's try was converted by Burton it looked as though Treviso had won the day.

Sexton had other ideas, though, and duly had the final say.

Sky Bet Odds:

Click Here for Your Free Bet

Guinness PRO12 Table

Guinness PRO12 Table - November 28 2014
Pos Team P Pts
11 Zebre 8 5
Forthcoming Treviso Fixtures
TimeFixture
Treviso
Friday 28th November
Guinness PRO12
19:35Cardiff Blues vs Treviso
Saturday 6th December
European Rugby Champions Cup
13:00Benetton Treviso vs Northampton
Saturday 13th December
15:15Northampton vs Benetton Treviso
Friday 19th December
Guinness PRO12
19:35Edinburgh vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 27th December
16:00Zebre vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 3rd January
TBCBenetton Treviso vs Zebre
Saturday 10th January
TBCBenetton Treviso vs Ulster
Wednesday 14th January
TBCUlster vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 17th January
European Rugby Champions Cup
TBCRacing Metro 92 vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 24th January
TBCBenetton Treviso vs Ospreys
Saturday 21st February
Guinness PRO12
TBCBenetton Treviso vs Cardiff Blues
Saturday 28th February
TBCConnacht vs Benetton Treviso
Saturday 7th March
TBCBenetton Treviso vs Edinburgh
Today's Results
Result
Treviso
Sunday 23rd November
Guinness PRO12
Treviso 24 - 24 Leinster
Friday 31st October
Glasgow 17 - 9 Benetton Treviso
Sunday 26th October
European Rugby Champions Cup
Benetton Treviso 10 - 26 Racing Metro 92
Sunday 19th October
Ospreys 42 - 7 Benetton Treviso
Friday 10th October
Guinness PRO12
Benetton Treviso 6 - 9 Connacht

Experts & Blogs

Phil Edwards

Phil Edwards

Read the thoughts and opinions of Phil Edwards with skysports.com