Bell back in for one-dayers

Spinner Briggs and opener Hales earn places for Twenty20 fixture

Last Updated: 11/06/12 6:35pm

  • Share:

Sky Bet

Ian Bell has been recalled to England's one-day squad for the upcoming three-match series against the West Indies.

The Warwickshire batsman is the only change to the 14-man party that swept Pakistan 4-0 back in February, taking the place of the now-retired Kevin Pietersen.

Bell has made 108 ODI appearances for his country, the last of them coming during the series in India last October. He has batted in a number of positions during his 50-over career at the highest level, including opening the innings.

Ravi Bopara comes back into the international fold after injury denied him the chance to be considered for selection during the Test series.

Twenty20 chance

The selectors have also announced the squad for the one-off Twenty20 International, Nottinghamshire batsman Alex Hales and Hampshire spinner Danny Briggs amongst the 13 names selected.

"We are anticipating a very competitive NatWest series against West Indies and are looking to continue to build on the progress we made in limited overs cricket earlier this year against Pakistan," National selector Geoff Miller said.

"Kevin Pietersen's recent decision to retire from one day cricket means we now start looking at other options available to us as we prepare to defend our ICC World Twenty20 title and look towards next year's ICC Champions Trophy and the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup."

The one-day series gets underway on June 16 at the Ageas Bowl before moving on to the Oval, on June 19, and then concluding at Headingley three days later. The Twenty20 international follows at Trent Bridge on June 24.

England NatWest Series squad for three-match series:
Alastair Cook (Essex, capt), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).

England NatWest International T20 squad:
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire, capt), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire).

  • Share:


Most Popular


WATCH: Best of WrestleMania

WATCH: Best of WrestleMania

Ahead of WrestleMania 33 we are looking back at some of 'The Show of Shows' most memorable moments with a new video every day....

Australian GP driver ratings

Australian GP driver ratings

Who starred Down Under, who had a shocker and who has plenty of work to do in the year ahead after race one of 2017.

Team of the week

Team of the week

Leicester and Harlequins are the only teams represented more than once in our team of the week.