Select a Team

Five classic finals

Last Updated: 14/05/08 9:11am

  • Share:
Liverpool celebrate their 2001 Uefa Cup victory

Liverpool celebrate their 2001 Uefa Cup victory

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Ahead of Wednesday's showpiece at the City of Manchester Stadium we look back at five classic Uefa Cup finals.

2002 - Feyenoord 3 Borussia Dortmund 2

Stroppy striker Pierre van Hooijdonk, known in Britain more for his sulks than his undoubted ability, proved to be the hero as Feyenoord triumphed against German giants Dortmund. At their own De Kuip stadium, the former Nottingham Forest forward scored a penalty - after Jurgen Kohler had been sent off - and added a second shortly before half-time. Dortmund strikers Amoroso and Jan Koller scored either side of Jon Dahl Tomasson's 50th-minute clincher as Bert van Marwijk's side held on to lift the Bertoni trophy.

2007 - Sevilla 2 Espanyol 2 (Sevilla won 3-1 on penalties)

Having beaten Middlesbrough 4-0 in the previous year's final, Sevilla had a sterner test when they defended their crown in Glasgow against La Liga rivals Espanyol. After a frenetic start, little winger Adriano opened the scoring only for Albert Riera to level. Fredi Kanoute's goal in extra-time set Sevilla back on course but penalties were required as Jonatas brought the Parakeets level again. However, Juande Ramos' side prevailed in the shoot-out, becoming only the second team - after Real Madrid - to retain the title.

2001 - Liverpool 5 Alaves 4 (after extra-time)

Liverpool won an impressive treble in the 2000-01 season peaking with a thrilling Uefa Cup final win over La Liga minnows Alaves. Gerard Houllier's side took a 2-0 lead through Markus Babbel and Steven Gerrard. Ivan Alonso pulled one back before Gary McAllister's penalty seemingly put the game beyond the Basque side. However, Javi Moreno's quick second-half double levelled things only for Robbie Fowler to snatch what seemed to be the winner. A further twist saw Jordi Cruyff net in the penultimate minute of the match to force extra-time before Delfi Geli scored a cruel 'golden' own-goal late on to hand the Reds a thrilling triumph.

1988 - Bayer Leverkusen 3 Espanyol 3 (on aggregate, Leverkusen won 3-2 on penalties)

Barcelona's second team romped the first leg with a 3-0 win in the Estadi de Sarria, inspired by goalscorers Roberto Losada and Miguel Soler to leave the Germans with much to do in the return leg. Leverkusen, coached by Erich Ribbeck, predictably threw everything forward in the second leg. After a goalless first half, Leverkusen scored three in 25 minutes to devastate Espanyol before an extra-time stalemate preceded a victorious penalty shoot-out victory for Bayer.

1981 - Ipswich 5 AZ Alkmaar 4 (on aggregate)

It may have been contested by two unglamorous teams, but the two-legged 1981 final was among the competition's most entertaining. Bobby Robson's Blues had seen off the likes of Manchester United and Juventus en route to the final. They coasted the first leg 3-0 as John Wark, Dutchman Frans Thijssen and Paul Mariner scored. Thijssen scored again in the return before AZ roared back to win 4-2 on the night, but Town's attacking stance had earned them a glorious victory.

Can you recall any other famous Uefa Cup finals? Let us have your thoughts using the form below.

  • Share:


Uefa Cup final

Thomson: Fitness boost

Thomson fit for Zenit clash

Rangers midfielder Kevin Thomson has declared himself fit for the Uefa Cup final against Zenit St Petersburg.

Smith: Zenit favourites

Smith - Zenit favourites

Rangers manager Walter Smith believes Zenit St Petersburg are the favourites to win the Uefa Cup.

Ricksen: Makes Rangers reunion

Ricksen relishes Rangers reunion

Zenit St Petersburg defender Fernando Ricksen is relishing the prospect of facing former club Rangers in the Uefa Cup final.

Most Popular


Hard hats and Hearts hopes

Hard hats and Hearts hopes

Hearts are preparing for Sunday's cup derby and owner Ann Budge opens up on the race to extend the stadium and competing with Celtic.

Scottish Cup fifth round draw

Scottish Cup fifth round draw

Celtic and Rangers have both been handed home ties in the fifth round of the Scottish Cup.

WATCH: Rod's rock 'n' roll draw

WATCH: Rod's rock 'n' roll draw

Rod Stewart gave a rockstar performance as he helped to conduct the draw for the fifth round of the Scottish Cup on Sunday.