Uefa charge for Eduardo
Gunners striker faces rap for 'dive' against Hoops
Last Updated: 28/08/09 12:31pm
Eduardo: Riled Celtic
Eduardo has been charged with "deceiving the referee" in Arsenal's clash with Celtic on Wednesday.
The Croatia international has been widely lambasted for the manner in which he went about winning a penalty at Emirates Stadium in the UEFA Champions League qualifier.
The striker tumbled under a challenge from Hoops keeper Artur Boruc after bursting into the box.
The referee immediately pointed to the spot, but replays proved there had been minimal contact between goalkeeper and striker.
Uefa were immediately pressured into taking action against the Gunners ace, with 'simulation' regarded as an evil becoming all too common in modern football.
Having reviewed the incident, European football's governing body have decided that there is a case to be answered by Eduardo.
They said in a statement: "Having studied video evidence of the incident in question, the Uefa disciplinary inspector decided to charge the player concerned. The Uefa Control and Disciplinary Body will examine the case on 1st September."
The charge is sure to rile Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger, who insists his player did nothing wrong.
"Eduardo, I've spoken with him and he said he's been touched slightly by the player," Wenger said in remarks released on the club's official website.
"He is not a diver, this guy. He's an honest guy."
Should Uefa decide to take further action against Eduardo, it is expected that he will be banned for Arsenal's first two games in the group stages of the Champions League - against Standard Liege and Olympiakos.