De Jong has no regrets
Midfielder unrepentant over tackle
Last Updated: 05/09/10 4:10pm
De Jong: No regrets
Nigel de Jong insists he does not regret his horror challenge on Spain's Xabi Alonso in the World Cup final.
The Manchester City midfielder caught Alonso in the chest in the final with a kung-fu kick in South Africa, and referee Howard Webb has since admitted he should have sent him off.
However, De Jong insists he never intended to hurt Alonso and that he has come back to Manchester City a better player as a result of his World Cup exploits.
"I don't regret anything. I never intended to hurt him," De Jong told the Sunday Mirror.
He added: "And after such a great World Cup I came back to the dressing room of Manchester City as a different player. Well, that's how it felt.
"I had just played in the final of the World Cup. It gives you a different status.
"The lads at City said they were impressed with the Dutch team's performances out there in South Africa. That was really nice."