Sidebottom still missing

England bowler to miss second and third ODIs

Last Updated: 22/08/07 3:26pm

  • Share:
Sidebottom: Injured

Sidebottom: Injured

Sky Bet

Ryan Sidebottom has been ruled out of England's next two one-day internationals because of his side strain.

The left-arm seamer was ruled out of Tuesday's opening match of the Natwest Series against India, which England won by 104 runs at the Rose Bowl.

He will not be fit in time for Friday's second match in Bristol or for the third match at Edgbaston on Bank Holiday Monday.

Sidebottom suffered the injury during the final Test against India at the Oval almost a fortnight ago and was expected to have recovered in time for the seven-match one-day series.

Sidebottom will be examined again after Monday's match in Birmingham and a decision will be made then on whether to retain him in the squad or call up an alternative bowler.

Related

Most Popular

Features

Team of the week

Team of the week

Who have been the standout performers in world cricket this week? Sky Sports' Matt Floyd picks our team of the week...

Misbah-ul-Haq Q&A - part one

Misbah-ul-Haq Q&A - part one

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq talks about the side's problems in Australia and New Zealand, Mickey Arthur and retirement.

Sky Cricket Podcast

Sky Cricket Podcast

Rob Key and Paul Collingwood talk about the England Test captaincy, preparations for the new season at Durham, and Monty Panesar.