Last Game: Zim v Ind T20 Series 3rd Twenty20 Wed 22nd Jun

Zimbabwe vs India

Next Game: West Indies v India Test Serie 2nd Test Sat 30th Jul

Next game - Zimbabwe
team 1 time team 2
W Indies vs India

Gambhir takes reins for ODIs

Saha poised for ODI debut as Dhoni opts out

Last Updated: 20/11/10 5:47pm

  • Share:
Gambhir: Takes over as skipper

Gambhir: Takes over as skipper

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Gautam Gambhir will lead India in the first two one-day internationals against New Zealand while Mahendra Singh Dhoni takes a break.

The regular captain put in a request to the BCCI after playing non-stop since the tour of Sri Lanka earlier in the year, but is expected to return for the final three one-dayers in the series.

Wriddhiman Saha, who has played a solitary Test for India this year, comes in as wicketkeeper for the two one-day matches and also the back-up gloveman for Dhoni on a tour of South Africa for a Test series starting next month.

Four senior players unavailable for the opening one-dayers - Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Zaheer Khan and Harbhajan Singh - are in the 17-man Test squad, along with fast bowler Zaheer Khan who is missing the current third Test against New Zealand because of a groin strain.

There is also a return to the one-day squad for big-hitting all-rounder Yusuf Pathan after his recent run of form in domestic cricket.

Following the concluding one-day international against the Black Caps on December 10 the Indian squad heads to South Africa for the first of three Tests starting just six days later at Centurion.

The series will be followed by a Twenty20 International and a five-match one-day series.

Squad for first two ODIs v New Zealand: Gautam Gambhir (capt), M Vijay, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Saurabh Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Munaf Patel, Sreesanth, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja.

Squad for South Africa Tests: MS Dhoni (capt), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Suresh Raina, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth, M Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Wriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav, Jaidev Unadkat, Pragyan Ojha.

  • Share:


Most Popular


Pundits' Old Trafford XIs

Pundits' Old Trafford XIs

Drop Moeen Ali? Go with Adil Rashid? Six bowlers? Our pundits pick their England XIs for the second Test against Pakistan.

Misbah, we salute you!

Misbah, we salute you!

Misbah-ul-Haq proved his pedigree at Lord's and should be saluted by the cricketing world, says Saj Sadiq.

Sky Cricket Podcast

Sky Cricket Podcast

David Lloyd reflects on England's first Test defeat, discusses second Test changes and has his say on Pokemon Go.