Select a Team

Prev Game: Africa Cup of Nations Wed 28th Jan

prev game - Cameroon
team 1 score team 2
Cameroon 0 - 1 Ivory Coast

Next Game: International Match Mon 30th May

next game - Cameroon
team 1 score team 2
France 20:00 Cameroon

Cameroon leave out Bassong

Spurs receive boost as defender misses African Cup of Nations

Last Updated: 23/12/09 2:28pm

  • Share:
Bassong: Overlooked by Cameroon

Bassong: Overlooked by Cameroon

Sky Bet

    • Retrieving latest Sky Bet odds

Tottenham centre-back Sebastien Bassong has been overlooked for Cameroon's African Cup of Nations squad.

Bassong had been expected to take his place in Paul Le Guen's 23-man party along with Spurs team-mate Benoit Assou-Ekotto.

Assou-Ekotto has been included but Le Guen has left out Bassong, which will come as a boost to his club manager Harry Redknapp.

Redknapp had expressed concern about the prospect of losing two key defenders, especially with Ledley King and Jonathan Woodgate currently sidelined through injury.

Bassong has been a mainstay of the side since moving to White Hart Lane over the summer and his omission from the Cameroon squad is a shock considering his good form this season.

Le Guen's other selections are less surprising and he has named several British-based players ahead of the tournament in Angola.

Arsenal midfielder Alex Song, Burnley's Andre Bikey, Geremi of Newcastle and Celtic's Landry N'Guemo are all in the squad.

Le Guen has also picked the uncapped pair of Schalke defender Joel Matip and Valenciennes goalkeeper Ndy Assembe alongside the experienced Rigobert Song and the tournament's record goalscorer Samuel Eto'o of Inter Milan.

The Indomitable Lions, beaten finalists in the 2008 tournament, will spend six days in Kenya from 5th January before heading to Angola, where they will face Group D games against Gabon, Zambia and Tunisia.


Carlos Kameni (Espanyol), Hamidou Souleymanou (Kayserispor), Guy N'Dy Assembe (Valenciennes), Rigobert Song (Trabzonspor), Geremi (Newcastle), Henri Bedimo (Chateauroux), Andre Bikey (Burnley), Benoit Assou-Ekotto (Tottenham), Aurelien Chedjou (Lille), Nicolas Nkoulou (Monaco), Alex Song (Arsenal), Jean Makoun (Lyon), Stephane Mbia (Marseille), Georges Mandjeck (Kaiserslautern), Joel Matip (Schalke), Enoh Eyong (Ajax), Landry N'Guemo (Celtic), Achille Emana (Real Betis), Somen A Tchoyi (Salzburg), Paul Alo'o Efloulou (Nancy), Achille Webo (Mallorca), Mohamadou Idrissou (Freiburg), Samuel Eto'o (Inter Milan).

  • Share:


Most Popular


African stars in 'shop window'

African stars in 'shop window'

The Africa Cup of Nations has for a long while been a shop window for African talent says SSN HQ's Geraint Hughes.

Challenges for all

Challenges for all

SSN HQ's Geraint Hughes checks in from Equatorial Guinea ahead of the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

AFCON 2015 preview

AFCON 2015 preview

Jonathan Wilson talks us through what we can expect at the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.