Proteas leave out Smith

Kallis is included in 15-man squad

Last updated: 9th August 2012  

Proteas leave out Smith

Graeme Smith: Will not play in the ICC World Twenty20 tournament

Related links


Also see

South Africa have omitted Test captain Graeme Smith in their 15-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka.

Smith was initially included in the extended squad for the tournament, which starts on September 18.

However there is little surprise that the 31-year-old has failed to make the final cut - with Smith last playing a T20 international in October 2011.

Jacques Kallis, who has appeared in a T20 international just once since May 2010, has retained his place in the squad, though.

"We are confident that our squad will be very competitive and make South Africa proud)," said selection convener Andrew Hudson.

"We have had basically the same squad together for the past year and many of them also produced stand-out performances at the Indian Premier League.

"The Proteas will also have excellent preparation for the World Twenty20 by finishing the England tour with three matches.

"They may be playing on a different surface to that they will find in Sri Lanka but they will be able to hone their T20 specific skills."

South Africa have been pooled together with the hosts Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Johan Botha, JP Duminy, Francois du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

[an error occurred while processing this directive]