MCC v Rest of the World: Legends on show for bicentenary celebrations at Lord's

The team line-ups read like a who's who of cricketing greats...

Last Updated: 05/07/14 9:24am

The teams have been announced for the MCC v ROW game at Lord's on Saturday 5th July.

The home of cricket is the place to be on Saturday as a star-studded MCC team take on an equally legend-laden Rest of the World XI in celebration of 200 years of cricket at Lord's.

If you can't make it to the ground, though, you can catch all the action live on Sky Sports.

The captains are particularly eye-catching, with the leading Test run scorer of all time in Sachin Tendulkar skippering the MCC against a Rest of the World side led by arguably the greatest bowler of all time - Shane Warne. And the big names just keep on coming...

Warne is the bowler with the second most Test wickets in the history of the game but fear not - the man leading the charge may well be turning the ball the same way but from the other end. Yes, Sri Lankan hero Muttiah Muralitharan will be bowling in tandem with the Australian legend as the Rest of the World look to skittle out their hosts with a spin bowling masterclass.

With the bat, the Rest of the World boast the likes of wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist, swashbuckling former India opener Virender Sehwag and a certain Kevin Pietersen, who will be keen to serve up a reminder of the talent England are missing out on with a headline-stealing knock.

The teams have been announced for the MCC v ROW game at Lord's on Saturday 5th July.

There can be no doubt that on paper, the MCC XI batting line-up remains superior, however. Their team contains no fewer than four of the leading Test run scorers of all time, with 'The Wall' Rahul Dravid of India and West Indies' most successful run-makers ever in Brian Lara and Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

It promises to be a fantastic day of cricket, turning Lord's into memory lane and with the likes of the former Aussie quick Brett Lee on show, their promises to be a competitive edge as well as a carnival atmosphere. Tune in!

MCC: Sachin Tendulkar (IND) (capt), Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (W.I), Rahul Dravid (IND), Aaron Finch (AUS), Umar Gul (PAK), Brian Lara (W.I), Brett Lee (AUS), Chris Read (ENG), Shaun Tait (AUS), Daniel Vettori (NZ).

REST OF THE WORLD: Shaune Warne (AUS) (capt), Shahid Afridi (PAK), Tino Best (W.I), Paul Collingwood (ENG), Adam Gilchrist (AUS), Tamim Iqbal (BAN), Muttiah Muralitharan (S.L), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Virender Sehwag (INDI), Peter Siddle (AUS), Yuvraj Singh (IND).

MCC v Rest of the World: 10am, Sat, Sky Sports 2 HD