Sportswoman of the Year to be crowned live on Sky Sports

Last Updated: 05/12/13 6:45pm

A look at some of the other nominations for the Sportswomen of the year awards.

The Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards takes place live on Sky Sports this evening.

World 400m champion Christine Ohuruogu, England's Ashes-winning cricket team, leading wheelchair racer Hannah Cockroft and Solheim Cup star Charley Hull are among those shortlisted.

The awards, to be broadcast live for the first time in their 26-year history from Sky Studios on December 5, will also pay tribute to a Team of the Year, a Young Sportswoman of the Year and a Disability Sportswoman of the Year.

Sportswoman of the Year nominee Ohuruogu has had a great 2013, winning the world 400m title for the second time and breaking Kathy Cook's long-standing British record.

Ahead of Thursday's awards, Ohuruogu said: "As much as I complain from start to finish I think I actually enjoy it! It's nice that you can leave a championships and know there's more you want to achieve.

Sportswomen looks ahead to the Sunday Times and Sky Sports Women of the Year awards on Thursday.

"I think god-willing I stay injury free, but there's still a couple of things I want to deal with in the 400 and you always think there's things you can iron out when you're out here working because I think if I got to the point where I didn't think there was anymore, then I'd stop."

And last year's winner Jessica Ennis-Hill added: "The fact that there's so many female sportswomen from different sports and all together in one room it's inspiring for young kids getting involved in sport.

"That award meant so much because it was such an incredible year. The level of performances last year, particularly from female athletes, was incredible, so many medals won by British athletes so to pick up that award was incredible.

"The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards have grown in stature since the launch in 1988 and are unique," said Alex Butler, Sunday Times Sports Editor.

"However, with Sky Sports now involved as co-sponsor and broadcaster, the event has moved to a new level.

"The achievements of British women in sport in 2013 have been phenomenal. Over the coming months - in print in The Sunday Times and on air with Sky Sports - we will celebrate those achievements".

Sportswoman of the Year 2013

Charlotte Dujardin

Becky James

Heather Knight

Christine Ohuruogu

Shelley Rudman

Non Stanford

Young Sportswoman of the Year 2013

Dina Asher-Smith

Charley Hull

Becky James

Katarina Johnson-Thompson

Team of the Year 2013

England Cricket team

England Netball team

Europe's Solheim Cup team

Team Pursuit Cycling squad

Disability Sportswoman of the Year 2013

Hannah Cockroft

Sophie Hahn

Amy Marren

Eleanor Simmonds

Watch the Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year Awards live tonight on Sky Sports.