Shortlist revealed for Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year Awards

Last Updated: 11/11/13 9:29pm

Sportswoman of the Year Awards

World 400m champion Christine Ohuruogu, England's Ashes-winning cricket team, leading wheelchair racer Hannah Cockroft and Solheim Cup star Charley Hull are among those shortlisted for the prestigious 2013 Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year Award.

Ohuruogu, who clinched a dramatic gold medal in Moscow and broke a 29-year British record in the process, is one of six women hoping to win the accolade at a star-studded ceremony in London on 5 December - which will be shown live on Sky Sports.

Shelley Rudman, who created winter sports history when she became the first British woman to win a skeleton world title, dressage rider Charlotte Dujardin, who followed double Olympic gold with three European medals, and cricketer Heather Knight, England's leading run scorer and player of the women's Ashes series, Becky James, who won four medals in five days at cycling's track world championships, and world triathlon champion Non Stanford are the other contenders for the top prize.

The awards, to be broadcast live for the first time in their 26-year history from Sky Studios on December 5, will also pay tribute to a Team of the Year, a Young Sportswoman of the Year and a Disability Sportswoman of the Year.

A nine-strong judging panel that includes Sky Sports presenter Hayley McQueen, Sky Sports managing director Barney Francis and Sport England director Tanya Joseph compiled the shortlists after a public call for nominations.

England's female cricketers, who recovered from World Cup disappointment to wrap up a 12-4 points win over Australia, are out to claim the Team of the Year prize for a third time but face competition from their netball counterparts yet to taste defeat in 2013. Britain's team pursuit cyclists - Laura Trott, Dani King and Elinor Barker - also make the cut after defending their 3km title in Belarus, as do Europe's Solheim Cup golfers after a maiden win on American soil.

Teenager Hull's role in that triumph - including victory over US star Paula Creamer - ensures she joins European U23 heptathlon champion Katarina Johnson-Thompson in the running for this year's Young Sportswoman of the Year award. James, leading the next generation of British cycling talent, makes a second shortlist, while 17-year-old sprinter Dina Asher-Smith is recognised for a double European U23 triumph.

Cockcroft heads the nominations for Disability Sportswoman of the Year after a third year unbeaten during which she retained both her world titles. Sprinter Sophie Hahn, who took up disability sport after being inspired by Jonnie Peacock's gold medal at the London Paralympics, is also in the frame, along with swimming duo Ellie Simmonds and Amy Marren.

The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration will honour one individual's inspirational endeavour, while a special Lifetime Achievement Award - previously won by Sally Gunnell and Billie Jean King - will recognise enduring sporting success. A Community Award saluting a sporting project at grassroots completes the list of seven categories.

Sportswoman of the Year 2013

Charlotte Dujardin
Becky James
Heather Knight
Christine Ohuruogu
Shelley Rudman
Non Stanford

Young Sportswoman of the Year 2013

Dina Asher-Smith
Charley Hull
Becky James
Katarina Johnson-Thompson

Team of the Year 2013

England Cricket team
England Netball team
Europe's Solheim Cup team
Team Pursuit Cycling squad

Disability Sportswoman of the Year 2013

Hannah Cockroft
Sophie Hahn
Amy Marren
Eleanor Simmonds

Watch the Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year Awards live on Sky Sports on December 5.