Women's Tour: Rossella Ratto takes race lead after winning stage two in Bedford

Last Updated: 09/05/14 10:49am

Rossella Ratto won stage two and took the race lead

Italy’s Rossella Ratto took the overall lead of the Women’s Tour by winning stage two in Bedford as Lucy Garner led home the British challenge in fifth.

Estadio de Mexico-Faren Kuota rider Ratto broke away from the peloton with around half of the day’s 118.5km distance remaining and was able to hang on to the finish on a day played out in heavy rain.

The 20-year-old, who took bronze in last year’s world championship road race, was joined in the lead by Susanna Zorzi (Astana BePink) with 30km to go, but she was able to outsprint her compatriot on a downhill drag to the line.

Marianne Vos (Rabobank-liv) led home a peloton also containing previous race leader Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS) six seconds later, which saw Ratto rise to the top of the general classification. She holds a five-second lead over Zorzi, with Vos a further one second back in third.

A strong sprint finish saw Garner (Giant-Shimano) claim her second top-10 finish of the race, as did fellow Briton Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans), who came seventh.

Armitstead also took three bonus seconds at intermediate sprints, which elevates her to fifth overall, 14 seconds down on Ratto, and sees her replace Hannah Barnes (UnitedHealthcare) at the top of the best British rider classification. Barnes is now sixth overall, while Garner is tenth. 

Stage two result

1 Rossella Ratto (Ita) Estadio de Mexico-Faren Kuota, 3:02:02
2 Susanna Zorzi (Ita) Astana BePink, same time
3 Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank-liv, +6secs
4 Amy Pieters (Ned) Netherlands, st
5 Lucy Garner (GB) Giant-Shimano, st
6 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle Honda, st
7 Lizzie Armitstead (GB) Boels-Dolmans, st
8 Aurore Verhoven (Fra) Lointek, st
9 Aude Biannic (Fra) Lointek, st
10 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Hitec Products, st

General classification

1 Rossella Ratto (Ita) Estadio de Mexico-Faren Kuota, 5:30:18
2 Susanna Zorzi (Ita) Astana BePink, +5sec
3 Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabobank-liv, +6secs
4 Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica-AIS, +7
5 Lizzie Armitstead (GB) Boels-Dolmans, +14
6 Hannah Barnes (GB) UnitedHealthcare, +15
7 Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Boels-Dolmans, +16
8 Elise Delzenne (Fra) Specialized-lululemon, same time
9 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Astana BePink, st
10 Lucy Garner (GB) Giant-Shimano, +19