Monday 2 May 2016 13:19, UK
Referee Michael Oliver was at the heart of several controversial moments as Leicester were made to wait for the Premier League title by a 1-1 draw with Manchester United on Super Sunday.
Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher joined Sky Sports News HQ on Monday morning to review the incidents in his regular Ref Watch feature.
Should Wayne Rooney have been sent off? Should Marouane Fellaini and Robert Huth get retrospective bans? And what about those penalty shouts? Read on for the expert verdict...
INCIDENT: Neither Robert Huth nor Marouane Fellaini are booked for their respective fouls on one another, including hair pulling and elbowing.
SCENARIO: Huth appears to pull the hair of Manchester United's Fellaini as a corner is played in, before the latter aims an elbow towards the Leicester defender twice.
GALLAGHER'S VIEW: Retrospective FA action for both players.
GALLAGHER SAYS: "When you watch the incident, there's no doubt that Robert Huth pulls Fellaini's hair and he subsequently elbows him. The easiest one to talk about is the first one because it's clearly an act of violent conduct and I don't think there's any doubt that the FA will charge him or ban him.
Refereeing decisions, Riyad Mahrez and Wayne Rooney feature in our Old Trafford talking points.
"I didn't spot it until it was replayed later in the game so bearing in mind we're watching the same game and I'm sat in the luxury of my seat at home, I can understand why a referee didn't see it.
"The Huth incident is interesting as much as earlier in the season when two Morecambe players did a similar thing to Marcus Bean at Wycombe. They were subsequently charged for the same offence that Huth committed, they both admitted the offence and served a three match ban each so there is a precedence there.
"The FA can charge which they have the right to do, especially with the Fellaini one because there was an elbow and the first one because of what happened earlier in the season. They've already done it so I can't see why they wouldn't follow their procedure."
INCIDENT: Leicester midfielder Danny Drinkwater is sent off for a second yellow card after a tackle on Memphis Depay.
SCENARIO: Drinkwater is chasing down Depay on the left-hand side and pulls him back before the Manchester United winger goes down in the box, although is not awarded a penalty. The Leicester player is then shown a second yellow card for the foul, adding to his earlier booking for a challenge on Marcus Rashford.
GALLAGHER'S VIEW: Correct decision for the second yellow, but there should have been a penalty.
GALLAGHER SAYS: "I think it was a foul when you pull a guy like that. The line belongs to the goalkeeper is the easy rule of thumb when deciding if it was inside or outside the box. The goalkeeper can handle the ball as far as the line, so the line is part of the penalty area. Depay has both feet on the line so he is in the penalty area and it should have been a penalty.
"That was the only decision of the match that I looked at and wondered why Michael didn't get that one. I say that because the angle we see before where he's running, all I can think is because of Drinkwater's body, he's not sure at what point his feet are planted when he gives the foul.
"I think it should have been a second yellow. The rule is the referee has to be convinced that it's in the penalty area and I don't think he was convinced of where his feet were at the time because I think he's watching the shirt pulling and he loses sight of where his feet are.
"I think that's where he makes his mistake. I can understand that because he's watching his arms and they're up, but his feet are on the line and unfortunately when he blows his whistle, the player moves and the situation has changed."
INCIDENT: Wayne Rooney brings down Demarai Gray while already on a yellow card.
SCENARIO: Manchester United captain Rooney pulls back Gray as Leicester mounted an attack towards the opposing box. Rooney was already on a yellow card, but was not shown another for the foul.
GALLAGHER'S VIEW: Correct decision
GALLAGHER SAYS: "The two sending off incidents are 100 per cent different because the offense is to stop an attack. Drinkwater stopped Depay going into the penalty area and attempting to cross the ball, but with Rooney, he pulled Demarai Gray back but he didn't stop the attack because Leicester continued to do so.
"There are a few ifs and maybes, but the fact was the player attacked with the ball so the referee is taught that he hasn't broken up an attack and he hasn't done that so the most he can say to Rooney is 'you're very lucky'.
"At the point it occurred, if the referee had a whistle, he would have penalised Leicester because they were attacking into the penalty area and that was the dilemma for the referee. I would bet anybody, if the referee had a whistle and gave the free kick to Rooney, everybody would have been up in arms and said the wrong team had been punished.
Leicester's players will watch Monday Night Football as Chelsea could hand the Foxes the title.
"This is the dilemma with this decision, is that whichever way the referee had jumped there, he was going to be wrong so the best situation really was to allow Leicester to continue because they had a chance of scoring."
INCIDENT: Riyad Mahrez collides with Marcos Rojo in the box, with no Leicester penalty awarded.
SCENARIO: Mahrez collects a rebound from a David de Gea save, but he is tackled in the box by Rojo, going to ground but there's no indication of a penalty from the referee and play continues.
GALLAGHER'S VIEW: Wrong decision
GALLAGHER SAYS: "I think it is a penalty. A number of people have said to me 'no' but I think when you watch it, you can see. I can understand that Michael thinks it is a collision, but when you look at it closely, he brings his left leg up and brings him down and the referee just doesn't see it because it is the other side."