Bruno Fernandes converted a penalty deep into added time as Manchester United snatched a dramatic 3-2 win from an incident-packed encounter at Brighton.
The decision to award United a penalty came after referee Chris Kavanagh had blown the full-time whistle at the Amex Stadium.
So why was the game brought back for United to take the match-winning penalty? We take a closer look at how the most dramatic of finales unfolded...
Fernandes coolly converted from 12 yards with the last kick of the game in the 100th minute after referee Kavanagh penalised Neal Maupay for handball having consulted the pitchside monitor.
Players from both teams surrounded Kavanagh during a remarkable ending as he consulted VAR and pointed to the spot after initially blowing the full-time whistle.
Maupay was found to have blocked Harry Maguire's goal-bound effort with an outstretched arm and, after an on-field melee, Fernandes dispatched the ball high into the top-right corner for the final say in a crazy south-coast encounter.
- Brighton 2-3 Man Utd - Match report and highlights
- How Brighton and Man Utd lined up | Match stats
- Get Sky Sports
Why was Fernandes allowed to take the penalty?
Simply, because the full-time whistle was blown after the incident and not before, and the incident took place in normal time. The VAR - Simon Hooper - was able to check, irrespective of the full-time whistle that followed.
As play had officially been brought to an end, Fernandes' penalty was the last kick of the game, so if Brighton goalkeeper Mat Ryan had saved it and the rebound was scored, it would not have counted.
IFAB Law 7.4 - On duration of match
If a penalty kick has to be taken or retaken, the half is extended until the penalty kick is completed.
IFAB Law 2 also states: "If at the end of the half, the referee leaves the field of play to go to the referee review area (RRA) or to instruct the players to return to the field of play, this does not prevent a decision being changed for an incident which occurred before the end of the half."
The dramatic finale in pictures
Solly March's header looked to have sealed Brighton a deserved point in the fifth and final minute of stoppage-time, but there was still time for Manchester United to mount a late push for a winner...
Maguire sent a looping header towards goal that struck Maupay's outstretched arm before being cleared off the line by March. Referee Kavanagh blew the full-time whistle, sparking remonstrations from Maguire and his Manchester United team-mates.
Despite calling time on the contest, a referee Kavanagh is instructed to take a second look at the incident on the pitchside monitor in the referee review area.
On second glance, Kavanagh spots the infringement from Maupay and points to the penalty spot amid similarly heated protests from Brighton players and staff.
What did the managers say?
Brighton boss Graham Potter: "I thought we scored with the last kick of the game - I don't know where the extra time came from to be honest. We are bitterly disappointed to concede the way we have; at the time we have.
"We played with real courage and spirit - I'd say we deserved something from the game, I would say that's an understatement.
"We had more chances and shots and hit the woodwork a few times but sometimes football's not fair - I have to accept that, as much as it's painful."
Man Utd manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer: "I don't think we ever scored after the final whistle, no that's right. But of course their handball was before full-time so it's the probably right thing to do and for us it's a big thing.
"We've discussed it this season - that we need more late goals. We were the team that lost the fewest games apart from Liverpool last season, but we drew too many, and to get two extra points after conceding the equaliser so late on it's a great boost for us.
"We've got to be honest enough to say they created the most chances, they had big chances so we need to improve a lot going forward."