Skip to content

Manchester United's Paddy McNair called up by Northern Ireland

Paddy McNair Manchester United
Image: Paddy McNair: N Ireland call for Manchester United star

Manchester United defender Paddy McNair is in line to make his Northern Ireland debut this month, having been included in a 27-man squad for matches against Scotland and Finland.

Manager Michael O'Neill has convened a familiar group for the friendly at Hampden on March 25 and the Euro 2016 qualifier that follows at Windsor Park on March 29, with the 19-year-old set for his first senior appearance.

He was an unused substitute during the defeat in Romania in November but with O'Neill set to rotate his squad in the first fixture, McNair can expect to be given his chance to shine in Glasgow.

McNair's United team-mate Jonny Evans retains his place and Doncaster's Luke McCullough is also included alongside veteran defenders Gareth McAuley, Aaron Hughes and Chris Baird, meaning Hull's Alex Bruce again misses out.

Brentford winger Stuart Dallas is another who may benefit from a run-out in Glasgow having returned to the squad while Kyle Lafferty, who has three goals in four Euro 2016 qualifiers so far, leads the forward unit and will travel from Turkish outfit Caykur Rizespor, where he is on loan from Norwich.

But there was no place for Martin Paterson, on loan with Major League Soccer franchise Orlando City.

There are five Scottish-based players in the squad including Aberdeen forward Niall McGinn and Kilmarnock pair Sammy Clingan and Josh Magennis.

Goalkeepers Alan Mannus (St Johnstone) and Michael McGovern (Hamilton Academical) are also included.


Goalkeepers: Roy Carroll (Notts County), Alan Mannus (St. Johnstone), Michael McGovern (Hamilton Academical)

Defenders: Aaron Hughes (Brighton), Chris Baird (West Brom), Gareth McAuley (West Brom), Jonny Evans (Manchester United), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Shane Ferguson (Newcastle United), Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town), Luke McCullough (Doncaster Rovers), Patrick McNair (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Steven Davis (Southampton), Chris Brunt (West Brom), Sammy Clingan (Kilmarnock), Corry Evans (Blackburn Rovers), Oliver Norwood (Reading), Paddy McCourt (Brighton), Ryan McLaughlin (Liverpool), Ben Reeves (MK Dons), Stuart Dallas (Brentford)

Forwards: Kyle Lafferty (Norwich City), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), Jamie Ward (Derby County), Josh Magennis (Kilmarnock), Billy McKay (Wigan Athletic), Will Grigg (MK Dons).

Around Sky