Fabregas dismisses dive talk

Image: Fabregas: Not a diver

Cesc Fabregas has hit back at Roberto Martinez for insinuating that he dived against Wigan on Saturday.

Gunners skipper responds to Martinez accusation

Cesc Fabregas has hit back at Roberto Martinez for insinuating that he dived against Wigan on Saturday. The Arsenal skipper won a penalty during a 3-0 win for the Gunners after being tugged back by Gary Caldwell. The Latics defender was further punished for his misdemeanour by being shown a red card. Wigan boss Martinez was unhappy with the incident afterwards, branding the penalty 'soft' and Fabregas 'very clever'. On Arsenal's Spanish schemer, he added: "Cesc comes from a different culture - you do not cheat, if you take a decision from the referee it is because you are clever and you are getting something for your team."

Surprised

Fabregas has been left disappointed by the comments of his countryman, as he insists he did not go down easily. He is adamant that the correct decision was made as he was hauled to the ground by a clumsy challenge. In his programme notes for Tuesday's Carling Cup semi-final second leg against Ipswich, Fabregas wrote: "I saw Roberto Martinez's comment that I might have employed some gamesmanship to win the penalty. "I don't know why he said that - he is a fellow Catalan and we have had some dinners together at the Spanish Embassy, so I was surprised because he has said himself that he knows me well, in which case he should know that I am not the kind of guy that dives. "Believe me, no player wanted to score more than I did on Saturday."

Around Sky