Hodgson takes manager prize

Image: Hodgson: LMA manager of the year

Roy Hodgson has been named the manager of the year by the League Managers' Association after leading Fulham to the Europa League final.

Redknapp wins Premier League manager of the year award

Roy Hodgson has been awarded the manager of the year prize by the League Managers' Association after leading Fulham to the Europa League final. The Fulham boss has been rewarded after following up last season's seventh-placed finish in the Premier League with another excellent campaign at Craven Cottage. In addition to claiming 12th spot in the domestic table, Hodgson has also guided the club to a first European final, with Fulham facing Atletico Madrid in Hamburg on Wednesday night. Fulham, who also reached the quarter-finals of the FA Cup, will have played 63 games this term after their prestigious clash with Atletico having started their European campaign last July. Harry Redknapp took this season's Premier League manager of the year award after guiding Tottenham to fourth place, but LMA chairman Howard Wilkinson believes Hodgson's efforts since taking over an ailing Fulham in December 2007 make him a worthy winner of the overall prize.

Highly respected

"Since joining Fulham, Roy has transformed the club's fortunes," said Wilkinson. "He initially saved them from the brink of relegation then took them to their highest ever league position last season. This year he has capitalised on that platform, achieving remarkable success in this season's Europa League. "He is highly respected by the LMA members and also on an international level where he has worked his miracles in no fewer than seven countries. He is a great role model for all aspiring managers and coaches and is fully deserving of this recognition." Newcastle's Chris Hughton is the new Championship manager of the year for his efforts in taking the club back up at the first attempt, while Norwich's Paul Lambert and Rochdale's Keith Hill have been honoured for their exploits in League One and League Two respectively. Steve McClaren, enjoying a career renaissance in Holland with FC Twente, was handed the LMA's special merit award, while there were also gongs for Arsenal director Ken Friar, who won the service to football award, and Ron Atkinson, who was inducted to the LMA's Hall of Fame. Richard Bevan, chief executive of the LMA, said: "Roy Hodgson received an overwhelming number of votes from the members and has won the LMA manager of the year award sponsored by Barclays by the most significant margin in the history of the award. "He is highly respected within the game and held in the highest regard in the family of football. He freely gives up his time to help other coaches and managers develop and hone their skills and talents, regularly contributing to the LMA's educational programmes."

Around Sky