Wales told TMO made no-try error against England in Six Nations
By PA Sport
Last Updated: 13/02/18 6:42pm
Wales have been told by World Rugby's referees' chief that the television match official made a mistake with the controversial no-try incident against England.
Gareth Anscombe saw a try ruled out in the first half at Twickenham, despite replays suggesting he beat Anthony Watson to ground the ball.
Wales head coach Warren Gatland subsequently described TMO Glenn Newman's call as a "terrible mistake" and he has now spoken with Alain Rolland, World Rugby's high performance match officials' manager.
Speaking to reporters on Tuesday, Wales assistant coach Rob Howley said: "I know Warren Gatland spoke to Alain Rolland, and they confirmed that the TMO made a mistake."
In a statement later on Tuesday, World Rugby said: "World Rugby has clarified to the Wales team management as part of the usual review process with teams that the TMO made an error in the application of law during the England v Wales match at Twickenham.
"In accordance with law 21.1 b Wales should have been awarded a try as the Wales player grounded the ball."
Wales lost the Six Nations clash 12-6, with England failing to score a point after the 20th minute.
Howley added: "It was good to have dialogue with World Rugby. That phone call took place - I think it was Monday - and Alain Rolland confirmed on behalf of World Rugby that the TMO made a mistake.
"It's happened. It is disappointing that happens in professional sport, but we focus on the next two weeks and getting ourselves ready for Ireland.
"There was plenty of time after that decision. We had a couple of opportunities which we should have taken."