Nine days of World Matchplay Darts live on Sky Sports this July

Last Updated: 18/06/13 6:31pm

Taylor: defending World Matchplay champ

The stars of darts will descend on Blackpool this summer for the 20th staging of the World Matchplay.

And as usual, you can follow the whole tournament live on Sky Sports HD.

The nine-day tournament kicks off at the Winter Gardens on Saturday July 20 and Sky Sports will bring you every session live right through to the final on Sunday July 28.

World number one Phil Taylor has won this tournament in each of the last five years and will be looking for a staggering 14th victory overall.

However, he'll face tough competition from Premier League winner Michael van Gerwen, 2007 champion James Wade and long-time Dutch rival Raymond van Barneveld.

Big names such as Adrian Lewis, Simon Whitlock, Andy Hamilton and Dave Chisnall will also be in town looking to win the biggest darts event of the summer and the £100,000 first prize.

The 32-man field will feature the top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit alongside 12 qualifiers from the ProTour Order of Merit, so there will be plenty of top tungsten coming your way.

The likes of Wayne Mardle, Rod Studd, John Gwynne, Rod Harrington, Stuart Pyke and Nigel Pearson will be taking on commentary duties throughout the event.

It all starts on Saturday July 20, live on Sky Sports 1 HD from 7pm.

Click here for full listings ahead of this year's World Matchplay