Skip to content

World Matchplay Darts 2014 schedule of play in Blackpool

Van Gerwen and Wade in action on opening night of tournament in Blackpool

The schedule of play for the 2014 World Matchplay has been confirmed, with world number one Michael van Gerwen and 2007 champion James Wade both in action on the opening night.

The 21st World Matchplay will be held at the famous Winter Gardens in Blackpool from July 19-27 with every match live on Sky Sports and a bumper opening session on Saturday July 19 will kick off when two-time finalist Terry Jenkins takes on Stoke ace Ian White, before world number four Simon Whitlock meets Kevin Painter.

World Champion Van Gerwen then faces Steve Beaton, before 2007 World Matchplay champion Wade - also a four-time runner-up in Blackpool - takes on Andy Smith.

The first round continues on Sunday afternoon, with Premier League Darts stars Dave Chisnall and Robert Thornton taking on Dean Winstanley and Paul Nicholson respectively, Brendan Dolan facing former Blackpool finalist Richie Burnett and Andy Hamilton meeting Wayne Jones.

Justin Pipe's clash with former World Youth Champion Michael Smith opens up Sunday's evening session, with the Fylde Coast derby of Fleetwood's Wes Newton against Blackpool's Ronnie Baxter - the 1998 finalist - then taking to the stage.

Reigning World Matchplay champion Phil Taylor - who won a sixth successive title and 14th in total last summer - then begins his bid to retain the trophy against Darren Webster, before the all-Dutch battle between Raymond van Barneveld and Vincent van der Voort.

Monday evening sees the first round conclude with the remaining four games, with last year's beaten finalist, world number three Adrian Lewis, taking on debutand Andrew Gilding.

Latest Darts Stories

Stephen Bunting, the Lakeside Champion who has made a big impression inside six months on the PDC circuit, also makes his World Matchplay debut on Monday as he takes on Peter Wright, with Mervyn King facing Kim Huybrechts and Gary Anderson playing Jamie Caven.

Schedule of Play

Saturday July 19 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1
Ian White v Terry Jenkins
Simon Whitlock v Kevin Painter
Michael van Gerwen v Steve Beaton
James Wade v Andy Smith

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

The World Matchplay of Darts celebrates 20 years at Blackpool's Winter Gardens.

Sunday July 20 - 1pm, Sky Sports 1
Dave Chisnall v Dean Winstanley
Brendan Dolan v Richie Burnett
Robert Thornton v Paul Nicholson
Andy Hamilton v Wayne Jones

Sunday July 20 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1
Justin Pipe v Michael Smith
Wes Newton v Ronnie Baxter
Phil Taylor v Darren Webster
Raymond van Barneveld v Vincent van der Voort

Monday July 21 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1
Peter Wright v Stephen Bunting
Mervyn King v Kim Huybrechts
Adrian Lewis v Andrew Gilding
Gary Anderson v Jamie Caven

Tuesday July 22 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1
Hamilton/Jones v Chisnall/Winstanley
Wade/A Smith v Dolan/Burnett
van Gerwen/Beaton v White/Jenkins
Whitlock/Painter v van Barneveld/van der Voort

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

We look back on some great Matchplay moments over the past 20 years ahead of the World Matchplay starting on 19th July.

Wednesday July 23 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1
Thornton/Nicholson v Newton/Baxter
Wright/Bunting v Anderson/Caven
Taylor/Webster v Pipe/M Smith
Lewis/Gilding v King/Huybrechts

Thursday July 24 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1
Quarter-Finals x2

Friday July 25 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1
Quarter-Finals x2

Saturday July 26 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1

Sunday July 27 - 7pm, Sky Sports 1

Around Sky