Skip to content

Scotland appeal World Cup suspensions

Jack Lam of Samoa is tackled by Richie Gray and Jonny Gray of Scotland during the 2015 Rugby World Cup Pool B match between Samoa and Scotland
Image: Richie and Jonny Gray tackle Jack Lam during Scotland win over Samoa

Scotland are preparing to face Australia in their World Cup quarter-final without forwards Jonny Gray and Ross Ford despite confirming they are appealing the three-week ban handed to the pair.

Hooker Ford and lock Gray were punished after being found guilty of dumping Samoa's Jack Lam on his head with an illegal two-man tip tackle during their 36-33 win.

The Scottish Rugby Union announced on their Twitter account: "Scottish Rugby can confirm it will appeal against the suspensions given to Ross Ford and Jonny Gray following the RWC match vs Samoa."

Clash of the hemispheres
Clash of the hemispheres

North meets south at the Rugby World Cup this weekend, we look at the history

But it emerged that the Scots are appealing against the length of the suspension, rather than the decision to punish them.

Scotland's appeal comes after it emerged South African referee Jaco Peyper told disciplinary bosses he did not feel the duo's challenge merited further punishment.

Peyper saw the incident at the time but decided not to act.

In a statement the Scots said: "Scottish Rugby will contest the length of suspensions given to the players following the Independent Citing Commissioner's review of the final Rugby World Cup Pool B match versus Samoa on Saturday 10 October and subsequent ruling by Judicial Officer Christopher Quinlan QC.

Also See:

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Rory Lawson feels that it's a significant blow to Scotland's hopes if Jonny Gray and Ross Ford are not available to play Australia

"Both players have exemplary records and are widely acknowledged as model professionals who play the game in the right spirit. Their actions had no malice or harmful intention.

"Ross and Jonny have both expressed their surprise and disappointment at the three-week suspension which has been handed down."

However, World Rugby rules state the referee's opinion can be ruled 'inadmissible', allowing the independent judicial officer who ruled on the case in Tuesday to ignore his views.

The Scottish Daily Mail have reported Peyper's comments which were included in the 16-page report into the case in which he said: "I can confirm I indeed saw the incident live referred to in the citing complaint. Samoa number seven (Jack Lam) found himself in position competing for the ball with his head below his hips already.

"The Scotland arriving players, number five (Jonny Gray) and number two (Ross Ford) in an attempt to remove the threat to possession as per normal and in the dynamics lifted Samoa number seven's legs and he tumbled over, however the player (was) supported on his hands through out.

"After our internal performance review process, I am satisfied that I dealt with the incident appropriately."