ICC clears England's Liam Punkett of ball-tampering after second ODI
"The match officials are comfortable that there was no attempt to change the condition of the ball"
Last Updated: 12/05/19 6:43pm
Liam Plunkett has been cleared of ball-tampering by the ICC after footage emerged of him moving his fingers over the ball during England's second ODI against Pakistan in Southampton.
Plunkett himself reported the footage from Saturday's encounter at The Ageas Bowl to match referee Richie Richardson, having become aware of it on Sunday.
The ICC is satisfied the ball, which appeared rough on one side, had not been altered with.
A statement read: "The match officials are comfortable that there was no attempt to change the condition of the ball or any evidence of this on the over-by-over examination of the ball throughout the game."
JUST IN: The ICC has confirmed that the match officials are comfortable there was no attempt by Liam Plunkett to change the condition of the ball or any evidence of this on the over-by-over examinations of the ball throughout Saurday's ODI clash in Southampton. pic.twitter.com/0gzwHq9s4h— ICC (@ICC) May 12, 2019
England won the game by 12 runs to move 1-0 up in the five-match series ahead of the third ODI in Bristol on Tuesday, which is live on Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Main Event from 12.30pm.
Jos Buttler smashed England's second-fastest ODI ton, from just 50 balls, to help his side to 373-3 before Pakistan replied with 361-7.