Skip to content

Formula 1 in 2022: Race calendar and schedule; car launch and pre-season winter testing dates

Everything you need to know about what's happening when in Formula 1 in 2022 with all the latest dates for the season ahead for a year of all-new cars and potentially a new-look pecking order too

Pre-season testing

Image: Plenty for teams to test in the six days of running ahead of the 2022 season.

With the arrival of those all-new cars and concepts, the winter testing schedule returns to six days for 2022.

The first three days will be staged at F1's favoured testing haunt of Spain's Circuit de Catalunya in late February, with the programme concluding in the warmer climes of Bahrain the week before the season-opening race at the same venue.

When are the winter tests?

Test One Barcelona February 23-25
Test Two Bahrain March 10-12

The 2022 race calendar

F1 has revealed its 2022 calendar
Image: The 23 dates you need to follow every race of the 2022 season, live on Sky Sports F1.

Formula 1 had planned to hit another new record this year with 23 races on the schedule for the first time - but the Russian Grand Prix has subsequently been cancelled. Miami in early May is the exciting new addition, on a track on the site of the Hard Rock Stadium, while there are scheduled returns for Australia, Canada, Singapore and Japan for the first time in three years.

Bahrain opens the campaign for the second year in succession, with the British GP on the first weekend of July, and a mid-November conclusion in Abu Dhabi. The whole season is live on Sky Sports F1.

20 March: Bahrain (Sakhir)
27 March: Saudi Arabia (Jeddah)
10 April: Australia (Melbourne)
24 April: Emilia Romagna (Imola)
8 May: Miami (Miami)
22 May: Spain (Barcelona)
29 May: Monaco (Monaco)
12 June: Azerbaijan (Baku)
19 June: Canada (Montreal)
3 July: Great Britain (Silverstone)
10 July: Austria (Spielberg)
24 July: France (Le Castellet)
31 July: Hungary (Budapest)
28 August: Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
4 September: Netherlands (Zandvoort)
11 September: Italy (Monza)
2 October: Singapore (Marina Bay)
9 October: Japan (Suzuka)
23 October: USA (Austin)
30 October: Mexico (Mexico City)
13 November: Brazil (Sao Paulo)
20 November: Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

Driver and team line-ups

Image: Will Lewis Hamilton and Max Verstappen renew title rivalries straight away in F1's new era?

A technical revolution on the track but only an evolution from 2021's driver line-up, with just four of the grid's 20 seats changing hands over the winter.

Also See:

The most significant is at Mercedes where George Russell has joined from Williams to replace Valtteri Bottas, who has moved on to Alfa Romeo. Provided Lewis Hamilton returns as scheduled, it will be an all-British line-up at Mercedes. Bottas meanwhile is team-mate to 2022's only rookie - Guanyu Zhou, China's first F1 race driver - while Russell's replacement at Williams is the returning Alex Albon.

Who is driving for which team?

Mercedes Lewis Hamilton George Russell
Red Bull Max Verstappen Sergio Perez
Ferrari Charles Leclerc Carlos Sainz
McLaren Lando Norris Daniel Ricciardo
Alpine Fernando Alonso Esteban Ocon
AlphaTauri Pierre Gasly Yuki Tsunoda
Aston Martin Sebastian Vettel Lance Stroll
Williams Alex Albon Nicholas Latifi
Alfa Romeo Valtteri Bottas Guanyu Zhou
Haas TBC Mick Schumacher

Around Sky