Phil Mickelson's conduct at US Open questioned by pros on Twitter
Last Updated: 17/06/18 8:05pm
The 118th US Open is in the books, but the biggest talking point from the tournament was the incident involving Phil Mickelson on the 13th in the third round.
Mickelson knowingly incurred a two-shot penalty when, after missing a putt for bogey, he ran after his ball and knocked it back towards the hole before it had a chance to run off the green.
The left-hander was unrepentant afterwards as he explained his actions, which resulted in a sextuple-bogey 10, admitting he deliberately hit a moving ball to avoid a potentially-tricky up-and-down from behind the front bunker.
He was penalised under Rule 14-5 by the USGA, although they could have implemented a couple of other rules which would have resulted in Mickelson being disqualified - which many observers felt should have been the case.
Social media was flooded with comments on the bizarre situation, here's a selection ...
Assume you over back in 2. So you chip it for 3, swipe at it when it’s moving, 4, close enough to hole next one, 5, plus 2 equals 7? Other scenario is chip goes in water, now playing 5 from drop zone, on green, 2 putts equals 7. Lower risk first scenario? https://t.co/XGXyGgXTgu— Graeme McDowell (@Graeme_McDowell) June 17, 2018
Not sure how UGA thought Phill made a stroke/hit on a moving ball. A stance of some kind must be made to be considered addressing the ball. If it is deemed a player hits/stops a moving ball deliberately to avoid ball being in a worse position then the DQ should be enacted.— Stuart Appleby (@StuartAppleby) June 17, 2018
He’s taken advantage of the rules. He’s not cheated. It’s like what Suarez did at the World Cup a few years ago with his hand ball. It’s just unethical and that’s what’s hard to swallow for some of us I believe. Just my thoughts at this point. https://t.co/OhEulvHhd0— Eddie Pepperell (@PepperellEddie) June 16, 2018
The USGA could still DQ Phil for that as he gave up & disrespected the event, he would probably agree himself!— Michael Hoey (@MikeHoeyNI) June 16, 2018
Fox's Paul Azinger on Phil's move: "I love Phil but it was a shocking breach of etiquette. I hope it doesn't become a viable strategy."— Gary VanSickle (@GaryVanSickle) June 17, 2018