Skip to content

Who has qualified for 2024 Men's T20 World Cup in West Indies and USA?

Namibia and Uganda qualify for 20-team ICC Men's T20 World Cup in 2024, take final two spots after coming through Africa Qualifier; Uganda, co-hosts USA and Canada to make tournament debuts next June; England are defending champions after winning 2022 event in Australia

Gerhard Erasmus, Namibia, T20 cricket (Getty Images)
Image: Gerhard Erasmus has captained Namibia to a third successive T20 World Cup appearance

The next Men's T20 World Cup takes place in West Indies and the United States of America in June 2024, with Namibia and Uganda becoming the final two nations to qualify for the 20-team event.

Namibia will play in their third consecutive edition of the T20 World Cup after topping the Africa Qualifier.

Uganda will appear for the first time after coming second in that qualifying competition.

Who else has qualified for T20 World Cup?

England players celebrate with their trophy after defeating Pakistan in the final of the T20 World Cup
Image: England won the 2022 Men's T20 World Cup, beating Pakistan in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground

West Indies and USA earned automatic entry by dint of being hosts, with the latter to now play in the tournament for the first time.

England, Pakistan, New Zealand, India, Australia, South Africa, Netherlands and Sri Lanka secured their places by finishing in the top eight of the previous T20 World Cup in 2022.

Afghanistan and Bangladesh were then included after being the next two highest teams in the T20I rankings.

Every other spot was determined by regional qualifiers with Ireland and Scotland coming through the European section and Papua New Guinea emerging from the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier.

Also See:

Canada - who will now make their tournament bow - progressed through the Americas Qualifier, while Nepal and Oman are the Asian qualifiers.

T20 World Cup groups

  • <b>Group A:</b> India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA
  • <b>Group B:</b> England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman
  • <b>Group C:</b> New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea
  • <b>Group D:</b> South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepa

How does the tournament work?

The 2024 T20 World Cup, which runs between June 1-29, will see the 20 teams divided into four groups of five with the top two advancing to the Super 8 stage. The Super 8s will feature two pools of four with the top two in each pool making the semi-finals.

Men's T20 World Cup - full fixture list

Saturday June 1

Group A - USA vs Canada (Dallas)

Sunday June 2

Group C - West Indies vs Papua New Guinea (Guyana)

Group B - Namibia vs Oman (Barbados)

Monday June 3

Group D - Sri Lanka vs South Africa (New York)

Group C - Afghanistan vs Uganda (Guyana)

Tuesday June 4

Group B - England vs Scotland (Barbados)

Group D - Netherlands vs Nepal (Dallas)

Wednesday June 5

Group A - India vs Ireland (New York)

Group C - Papua New Guinea vs Uganda (Guyana)

Group B - Australia vs Oman (Barbados)

Thursday June 6

Group A- USA vs Pakistan (Dallas)

Group B - Namibia vs Scotland (Barbados)

Friday June 7

Group A - Canada vs Ireland (New York)

Group C - New Zealand vs Afghanistan (Guyana)

Group D - Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh (Dallas)

Saturday June 8

Group D - Netherlands vs South Africa (New York)

Group B - Australia vs England (Barbados)

Sunday June 9

Group A - India vs Pakistan (New York)

Group B - Oman vs Scotland (Antigua and Barbuda)

Monday June 10

Group D - South Africa vs Bangladesh (New York)

Tuesday June 11

Group A - Pakistan vs Canada (New York)

Group D - Sri Lanka vs Nepal (Lauderhill)

Group B - Australia vs Namibia (Antigua and Barbuda)

Wednesday June 12

Group A - USA vs India (New York)

Group C - West Indies vs New Zealand (Trinidad and Tobago)

Thursday June 13

Group B - England vs Oman (Antigua and Barbuda)

Group D - Bangladesh vs Netherlands (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)

Group C - Afghanistan vs Papua New Guinea (Trinidad and Tobago)

Friday June 14

Group A - USA vs Ireland (Lauderhill)

Group D - South Africa vs Nepal (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)

Group C - New Zealand vs Uganda (Trinidad and Tobago)

Saturday June 15

Group A - India vs Canada (Lauderhill)

Group B - Namibia vs England (Antigua and Barbuda)

Group B - Australia vs Scotland (Saint Luca)

Sunday June 16

Group A - Pakistan vs Ireland (Lauderhill)

Group D - Bangladesh vs Nepal (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)

Group D - Sri Lanka vs Netherlands (Saint Lucia)

Monday June 17

Group C - New Zealand vs Papua New Guinea (Saint Lucia)

Group C - West Indies vs Afghanistan (Saint Lucia)

Super 8s

The top two from each of the four groups qualify for the Super 8s. The teams are the split into two further groups of four, with the top two from both then progressing to the semi-finals.

  • Group 1 - Group A winners (A1), Group B runners-up (B2), Group C winners (C1), Group D runners-up (D2)
  • Group 2 - Group A runners-up (A2), Group B winners (B1), Group C runners-up (C2), Group D winners (D1)

Wednesday June 19

Group 2 - A2 vs D1 (Antigua and Barbuda)

Group 2 - B1 vs C2 (Saint Lucia)

Thursday June 20

Group 1 - C1 vs A1 (Barbados)

Group 1 - B2 vs D2 (Antigua and Barbuda)

Friday June 21

Group 2 - B1 vs D1 (Saint Lucia)

Group 2 - A2 vs C2 (Barbados)

Saturday June 22

Group 1 - A1 vs D2 (Antigua and Barbuda)

Group 1 - C1 vs B2 (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)

Sunday June 23

Group 2 - A2 vs B1 (Barbados)

Group 2 - C2 vs D1 (Antigua and Barbuda)

Monday June 24

Group 1 - B2 vs A1 (Saint Lucia)

Group 1 - C1 vs D2 (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)

Knockout stages

Wednesday June 26

Semi-final - Winner of Group 1 vs Runner-up of Group 2 (Guyana)

Thursday June 27

Semi-final - Winner of Group 2 vs Runner-up of Group 1 (Trinidad)

Saturday June 29

Final (Barbados)

Around Sky