Skip to content

Mercedes win fifth consecutive F1 Constructors' Championship

Five drivers' and constructors' title doubles in a row matches Ferrari's run from 2000 to 2004

Mercedes have secured their fifth successive Constructors' Championship crown to strengthen their position as the pre-eminent force of Formula 1.

The Silver Arrows wrapped up their fifth consecutive team title at the Brazilian GP, the penultimate event of the 2018 season.

Mercedes' success also represents their fifth driver and team title win since the start of the sport's hybrid era in 2014.

During that period, Lewis Hamilton has won four world championships with Hamilton's then-Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg being crowned champion in 2016.

Ferrari had to outscore Mercedes by 13 points or more at Interlagos, but Hamilton's win combined with Valtteri Bottas' fifth place meant the reigning champions increased their advantage by 10 points with one round to go.

"Honestly, these guys have worked so hard the last six years and it's been an incredible journey for them," said Hamilton, who clinched the 2018 drivers' title at the previous round in Mexico.

"This is what everyone works for the whole year, you know. Everyone wakes up and goes to work every day and tries to bring the best out of themselves and they really pull together as a unit.

Also See:

"I've always told you how much of an honour it is to drive for them, and this was the best style we could do it, because we were struggling [in the race]."

2018 Constructors' Championship - top five

Team Points
Mercedes 620
Ferrari 553
Red Bull 392
Renault 114
Haas 90

Constructors' Championship, all-time winners - top five

Team Number of titles
Ferrari 16
Williams 9
McLaren 8
Lotus 7
Mercedes 5

Sky Sports F1 is the only place to watch every Formula 1 Grand Prix, qualifying and practice session live in 2018. Get Sky Sports F1.

Around Sky