Skip to content

Super League: Daryl Clark, Chris Hill, Jamie Peacock and James Roby in for Man of Steel

Daryl Clark, Chris Hill, Jamie Peacock and James Roby have all been nominated for Super League's most prized individual honour, the Steve Prescott Man of Steel award.

Hooker Clark has enjoyed an impressive year with Castleford Tigers, helping them achieve their most successful season in the Super League era before he moves on to Warrington next season.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Super League back chat

Hill is shortlisted for the first time following an outstanding year for the Wolves. The England prop has been a dominant figure for Warrington, helping them move just 80 minutes away from a place in the Grand Final at Old Trafford.

Veteran Jamie Peacock has been in imperious form for Leeds in his 15th Super League season. Peacock’s consistency is highlighted by being shortlisted for the award for the last two years and he is looking to become only the fourth player to win the honour twice.

Roby could also scoop the award for a second time, the hooker having been as consistent as ever in helping St Helens claim the League Leaders' Shield, despite the team being beset by injury problems.

Extended shortlist

The Steve Prescott Man of Steel is chosen by a poll of every Super League player, the results of which are considered by a specially-convened panel featuring a former Man of Steel, representatives from the players’ union and one representative each from the written and broadcast media. The presence of four players on the shortlist reflects the players’ vote and the expert views of the panel.

The Man of Steel has been presented at the end of every season since 1977 and has been renamed in memory of Steve Prescott, who passed away 12 months ago after a long and courageous battle against a rare form of stomach cancer.

Clark has also been nominated for Super League Young Player of the Year, along with Wigan Warriors utility back Dan Sarginson and Leeds Rhinos stand-off Liam Sutcliffe.

The winners will be announced three days before the 2014 Super League Grand Final in Manchester, on Saturday October 11.

Watch both Super League finals with a Sky Sports Week Pass. No contract

Around Sky