Skip to content

Billie Jean King Cup Finals: All you need to know about the women's 'World Cup of Tennis'

The Billie Jean King Cup Finals will be held between November 7-12 at the Estadio La Cartuja in Seville with 12 teams competing in four groups of three,ahead of the semi-finals; head to the Sky Sports website and app, for live scores, reports, analysis and features

Belinda Bencic raises the Billie Jean King Cup as Switzerland defeat Australia to become 2022 champions
Image: Belinda Bencic raises the Billie Jean King Cup after Switzerland defeat Australia to become 2022 champions

The 2023 Billie Jean King Cup Finals, held between November 7-12 at the Estadio La Cartuja in Seville, Spain, features 12 teams competing in four round-robin groups of three, with the winners advancing on to the semi-finals.

What is the Billie Jean King Cup?

Billie Jean King during the 50th Anniversary of Equal Prize Money at the 2023 US Open, Monday, Aug. 28, 2023 in Flushing, NY. (Simon Bruty/USTA via AP)
Image: The competition was renamed to honour 39-time Grand Slam champion Billie Jean King

You may remember it by its previous name of the Federation Cup, or its abbreviated form - Fed Cup.

In 2020 the competition was renamed to honour 39-time Grand Slam champion Billie Jean King - who won it seven times as a player and four times as a captain.

Founded in 1963, to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the ITF, it has become the world's largest annual team competition in women's sport and this year boasted participation from 134 nations.

Who are the teams playing this year?

  • Switzerland (Defending champions)
  • Australia (Last year's finalists)
  • Canada
  • Czech Republic
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Poland (Wildcard)
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • USA

Where are Great Britain?

Katie Boulter of Great Britain reacts to winning a point during match one between Katie Boulter of Great Britain and Marcela Zacarías of Mexico during day 1 of the Billie Jean King Cup Play-Offs between Great Britain and Mexico at National Tennis Centre on April 16, 2021 in London, England. (Photo by Naomi Baker/Getty Images for LTA)
Image: Katie Boulter will lead Great Britain in a Play-Off tie against Sweden

Following their defeat to France in the Qualifiers back in April, Great Britain will be looking to bounce back with a victorious performance against Sweden in a Play-Off tie.

It will take place at the Copper Box Arena, between November 11-12, with each tie consisting of five rubbers.

Maia Lumsden, the British No 1 in doubles, has received a first call-up after a strong year, with the Glaswegian reaching the Wimbledon quarter-finals alongside countrywoman Naiktha Bains and rising to 80th in the world doubles rankings.

Also See:

Maia Lumsden (Getty Images)
Image: Doubles specialist Maia Lumsden, 25, has received a first call-up to the Great Britain team

Lumsden joins Katie Boulter, Jodie Burrage, Heather Watson and Harriet Dart in the British team.

Sweden booked their spot in the Play-Offs after topping their group at the Europe/Africa Group I event in Antalya, Turkey back in April, where they won five of their six ties.

How does the format work?

The 12 teams are split into four round-robin groups, and the winners of each group will advance to the semi-finals ahead of the final.

All ties will consist of three matches - two singles, followed by doubles.

What are the Groups & Teams?

Group A

Switzerland Czech Republic USA
Belinda Bencic Marketa Vondrousova Madison Keys
Viktorija Golubic Karolina Muchova Sofia Kenin
Celine Naef Barbora Krejcikova Danielle Collins
Jil Teichmann Linda Noskova Sloane Stephens
Katerina Siniakova Taylor Townsend

Group B

Australia Kazakhstan Slovenia
Kimberly Birrell Elena Rybakina Tamara Zidansek
Storm Hunter Yulia Putintseva Kaja Juvan
Daria Saville Zhibek Kulambayeva Veronika Erjavec
Ajla Tomljanovic Aruzhan Sagandikova Nina Potocnik
Ellen Perez Anna Danilina Ela Nala Milic

Group C

Spain Canada Poland
Paula Badosa Leylah Fernandez Magda Linette
Sara Sorribes Tormo Rebecca Marino Magdalena Frech
Rebeka Masarova Eugenie Bouchard Katarzyna Kawa
Cristina Bucsa Marina Stakusic Weronika Falkowska
Marina Bassols Ribera Gabriela Babrowski

Group D

France Italy Germany
Caroline Garcia Jasmine Paolini Tatjana Maria
Varvara Gracheva Elisabetta Cocciaretto Anna-Lena Friedsam
Clara Burel Martina Trevisan Laura Siegmund
Alize Cornet Lucia Bronzetti Eva Lys
Kristina Mladenovic Lucrezia Stefanini Jule Niemeier

What do you need to watch out for?

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

King shares how she was able to help the US Open become the first Grand Slam to give equal prize money for men and women

There are some very strong and experienced teams ready to do battle in Seville.

Team USA might be missing US Open champion Coco Gauff, but they are not lacking for Slam champions and finalists with Sloane Stephens, Sofia Kenin and Madison Keys heading their line-up.

Kazakhstan and the Czech Republic boast a brace of Wimbledon champions - Elena Rybakina and Marketa Vondrousova.

Rybakina and Vondrousova will have to hot-foot it from Cancun, where the season-ending WTA Finals will be taking place.

Belatedly announced as the venue for the curtain-closing finale, there are no direct flights from Cancun to Seville, and there has been a lot of tension around the clash of dates.

"We've [the ITF] had our date for a long time, I think you should ask the WTA - they're the ones that put their date in a few weeks [ago]," King told reporters, ahead of the Billie Jean King Cup Finals.

"As far as our sport, I think we all need to figure out a better calendar for the players and everybody knowing what's going to happen, because you can't start making these decisions on the finals in like September. It's only fair. Can you imagine if a major didn't know its dates?"

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

King praises US Open champion Coco Gauff and urges Emma Raducanu to put her health first

Record prize money

There will be an unprecedented player prize money purse of $9.6m, with a record $2.4m on offer to the overall champions.

This year's record prize money purse will be broken down as follows...

  • The world champions will receive $2,400,000
  • The runners-up will receive $1,440,000
  • The semi-finalists will receive $960,000
  • Group stage teams will receive $480,000

The Billie Jean King Cup starts on November 7, with last year's finalists Australia opening the tournament against Slovenia, while defending champions Switzerland take on Czech Republic.

Stream all your favourite sports and more with NOW

Around Sky