Skip to content

England in group with India and South Africa at ICC T20 World Cup in Australia

Eoin Morgan's side will hope to go one better after losing in the 2016 final

Leg-spinner Adil Rashid bowled his full allocation of five overs in the rain-hit third ODI
Image: England will start against a qualifier in the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia

England will face India, South Africa and Afghanistan in the group stage of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in Australia next year.

Eoin Morgan's side, who were beaten finalists in the 2016 event, will begin their campaign at the new Perth Stadium on October 26 against one of the two qualifiers who will make up Group 2, potentially Bangladesh or Sri Lanka.

They will then travel to Sydney to play South Africa at the SCG four days later before a clash with world No 2-ranked India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 1.

Afghanistan await in Brisbane on November 4 before England finish the Super 12 phase at the Adelaide Oval against the second of the two qualifiers.

Carlos Brathwaite (R) and team-mate Marlon Samuels celebrates West Indies' World Twenty20 final win over England
Image: Remember the name? Carlos Brathwaite broke English hearts to smash Windies to glory in 2016

The first round of the tournament begins on October 18 in which eight teams, including Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, split into two groups, will compete for the final four spots in the Super 12s.

Australia then take on world No 1 side Pakistan on October 24 in the first Super 12 fixture, with reigning champions Windies also in Group 1.

The top two from each Super 12 group will progress to the semi-finals, the first of which will take place in Sydney on November 11 with the second in Adelaide the following day.

Also See:

The MCG will host the final on November 15.

Live Test Cricket

First round Group A: Sri Lanka plus three qualifiers

First round Group B: Bangladesh plus three qualifiers

Group 1: Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, Windies, Group A team 1, Group B team 2

Group 2: India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, Group B team 1, Group A team 2

Around Sky