Skip to content

Cazoo Masters: Gerwyn Price meets defeat in second round as Michael Smith progresses

Dirk van Duijvenbode beat Gerwyn Price in the second round of the Cazoo Masters in Milton Keynes; world champion Michael Smith battled back to defeat Ross Smith; Michael van Gerwen overcame Jose de Sousa; watch the Premier League Darts live from February 2 on Sky Sports

Image: Gerwyn Price exited the Masters after going down 10-8 to Dirk van Duijvenbode

Gerwyn Price suffered a second-round defeat at the Cazoo Masters at the hands of Dirk van Duijvenbode, while world champion Michael Smith made safe progress into the quarter-finals.

Price exited after going down 10-8 to Van Duijvenbode in Milton Keynes, the Dutchman failing to make the most of five match darts in the penultimate leg before sealing victory with an 11-darter.

Van Duijvenbode, who had lost 15 of his 16 meetings with Price, said to "Those match darts I had in the leg before were the hardest darts I've ever thrown.

Image: World champion Michael Smith has reached the quarter-finals

"I always set myself high standards so if I am not hitting a 100 average every game, I'm not happy, but I'm pleased with how I managed to compose myself in that last leg."

Van Duijvenbode will now face Chris Dobey, who saw off Luke Humphries with victory by the same score.

Michael Smith got past Ross Smith 10-7 and will next play Danny Noppert, a 10-9 victor over Stephen Bunting.

Ross Smith had won the European Championship final between the pair in October and took out 126, 130 and 136 combinations en route to a 4-2 lead at Marshall Arena before the world champion fought back.

Also See:

And Michael Smith said: "The reception I got was unreal and I need to get used to it quick, because I was too busy enjoying it.

"That first session when Ross checked out 126 and 130, I thought it was the European Championship all over again!

"Every single time he left a ton-plus finish he hit it, but I stepped in, I took my chances and I'm glad to get the job done."

Five-time Masters champion Michael van Gerwen beat Jose de Sousa 10-7 to set up a meeting with Rob Cross, who advanced to the last eight after emerging with a 10-6 triumph from a clash with Gary Anderson that produced the highest combined average in the competition's history.

Cross and Anderson fired in eight 180s each and averaged 112.32 and 111.17 respectively.

The other quarter-final will be between 2020 title-winner Peter Wright and 2021 champion Jonny Clayton.

Wright defeated Dave Chisnall 10-7 and Clayton got the better of James Wade, winning 10-3.

Saturday January 28
Afternoon Session

Danny Noppert 10-9 Stephen Bunting
Rob Cross 10-6 Gary Anderson
Jonny Clayton 10-3 James Wade
Chris Dobey 10-8 Luke Humphries

Evening Session
Second Round x4

Dirk van Duijvenbode 10-8 Gerwyn Price
Peter Wright 10-7 Dave Chisnall
Michael Smith 10-7 Ross Smith
Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Jose de Sousa

Sunday January 29
Afternoon Session (12.45pm GMT)
Quarter-Finals x4

Dirk van Duijvenbode vs Chris Dobey
Michael Smith vs Danny Noppert
Peter Wright vs Jonny Clayton
Michael van Gerwen vs Rob Cross

Evening Session (7pm GMT)
Semi-Finals & Final

The PDC will announce the schedule for the 2023 Premier League season during the event, ahead of the campaign getting under way on February 2. Watch every week of the 2023 Premier League season live on Sky Sports!

Around Sky