Skip to content

Premier League Darts: Van Gerwen beats Smith in Liverpool to secure three wins in a row

Michael van Gerwen beat Michael Smith 6-4 in the final of night six of the Premier League Darts in Liverpool; The Premier League darts moves to Nottingham on March 16 - live on Sky Sports Action from 7pm, with the Play-Offs returning to the O2 in London on Thursday May 25

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Take a look at the best of the action from Night Six of the Premier League in Liverpool.

Michael van Gerwen continued his fine form as he beat Michael Smith 6-4 in Liverpool to claim his third-straight Premier League win.

Van Gerwen picked up where he left off in the previous two nights, comfortably reaching the final with wins over Jonny Clayton and Peter Wright.

He looked like he would make it a comfortable hat-trick after storming to a 3-1 lead in the final, but world champion Smith made it difficult and won three in a row to peg the Dutchman back.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Michael van Gerwen defeated Michael Smith 6-4 in the final of Liverpool to win his third consecutive Premier League night.

In a topsy-turvy match, Van Gerwen went one game away from a third win after pinning double eight against the throw. Smith continued to ask a lot of questions, but narrowly missed the bullseye by millimetres that would have taken it to a decider.

Van Gerwen took full advantage and nailed the double 10 to make it three in a row. The result puts the Dutchman in full control of the competition, as he now has an eight-point lead over Smith.

"I think you have to do well on nights like this. There wasn't a lot of good darts towards the final. Maybe that's to do with the schedule. You have to turn up in the final, especially against Michael Smith," MVG said.

"When you are under pressure, the best feeling in the world is to do the same back. It gives you pleasure and joy. That's what you want and that's how you can win games and finals on nights like this.

Also See:

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Peter Wright hit a 130 checkout on the bullseye to stay in touch with Michael van Gerwen.

"I know how to win without my A performance. But in some patches, I played really well. But I gave him a chance. You can't give players like him a chance.

"I have won three in a row now and next week I go for number four."

Smith remains in second place and has a one-point lead over third-placed Nathan Aspinall, who he beat in the semi-final. Gerwyn Price rounds off the top four on eight points, with Dimitri Van den Bergh and Clayton a point behind.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Michael Smith hit a crucial 122 checkout to put a halt to Dimitri van den Bergh's comeback in Liverpool.

Van Gerwen was in good form again, and comfortably beat Clayton and Wright on his way to the final in Liverpool.

The Dutchman dropped just three legs before the final against two players who currently sit outside the play-off places. Van Gerwen wasn't at his best but did enough to get through, and never gave Clayton a look in and eased through 6-2 in the quarter-final.

He then faced Wright in the next round - with the Scotsman having beaten Gerwyn Price to pick up his first points of the year. But Van Gerwen was too good again and sealed a comfortable 6-1 win.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Dimitri van den Bergh hit a 127 bull-finish to get within one leg of Michael Smith after Bully Boy went 3-0 up.

The road to the final was a bit more difficult for Smith, despite beating Van den Bergh 6-3. The Belgian was out of sorts and struggled to get going, but Smith crawled over the line against Aspinall in the semi-final.

Both players missed regular doubles and were level-pegging at 2-2 after four legs. It was Smith who was able to edge ahead, with Aspinall's struggles on the outside ring continuing throughout the tie.

The world champion sealed a 6-2 win despite averaging less than 90.

Premier League - Night 6 in Liverpool Results

Quarter-finals Gerwyn Price 5-6 Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Chris Dobey 4-6 Nathan Aspinall
Michael Smith 6-3 Dimitri van den Bergh
Semi-finals Peter Wright 1-6 Michael van Gerwen
Nathan Aspinall 2-6 Michael Smith
Final Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Michael Smith

Night 7 in Nottingham: Thursday, 9 March

Quarter-Finals Dimitri van den Bergh v Nathan Aspinall
Jonny Clayton v Gerwyn Price
Peter Wright v Michael van Gerwen
Chris Dobey v Michael Smith

Where are we heading next?

The Premier League roadshow heads to the Motorpoint Arena in Nottingham on March 16, as Smith faces Chris Dobey and Wright faces Van Gerwen in a repeat of the semi-final on night six.

The other two quarter-finals see Clayton play Price and Van den Bergh face Aspinall.

2023 Premier League Schedule

Night 3 OVO Hydro, Glasgow February 16
Night 4 3Arena, Dublin February 23
Night 5 Westpoint Exeter March 2
Night 6 The Brighton Centre March 9
Night 7 Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham March 16
Night 8 Utilita Arena, Newcastle March 23
Night 9 Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin March 30
Night 10 Utilita Arena, Birmingham April 6
Night 11 M&S Bank Arena, Liverpool April 13
Night 12 Rotterdam Ahoy April 20
Night 13 First Direct Arena, Leeds April 27
Night 14 AO Arena, Manchester May 4
Night 15 Utilita Arena, Sheffield May 11
Night 16 P&J Live, Aberdeen May 18
Play-Offs The O2, London May 25

We're back for more Premier League Darts action from the Motorpoint Arena in Nottingham on March 16 - live on Sky Sports Action from 7pm.

Around Sky