• 14:45 John Hewitt Memorial Open Hunters' Chase2m 4f 72y

  • Winner £1,317 2nd £405 3rd £203
  • Going: Heavy
  • Surface: Turf


  • Weighed In

  • Winning time: 5m 47.10s
  • Off time: 14:46:03
14:45 Bangor-on-Dee Racecards
No Draw Dist
1st Barrakilla (IRE) 15/8
2nd Wells De Lune (FR) 8/1
3rd Alfstar 66/1


No Form Silk Horse A Wgt Trainer Jockey OR Sky Bet
1 413165- Purple, Light Blue star, Light Blue and Purple striped sleeves Wells De Lune (FR) 381
7 12-8 ht M Bowen Mr P Bryan (7) 128 1001
2 5323P-U Emerald Green, Royal Blue triple diamond and armlets, White cap, Royal Blue diamond Hindon Road (IRE) 26
Distance WinnerCourse and Distance Winner
11 12-4 Mrs C Drury Miss E Todd (3) 113 1001
3 1U2-11U Dark blue and yellow (quartered), yellow and maroon hooped sleeves, yellow cap Never Complain (IRE) 258
Beaten FavouriteDistance Winner
10 12-4 p Mrs F Marshall Mr Charlie Marshall (7) 120 1001
5 1-22121 Yellow, Black triangle, Green and Yellow quartered cap Dabinett Moon 12
10 12-1 Mrs F J Marriott Mrs C Hardwick (3) 110 1001
6 1311P-P Emerald green, yellow cross of lorraine and sleeves Alfstar 280
10 12-0 Miss Joanne Priest Mr Jonathan Bailey (3) 1001
7 320243/ Royal Blue, Pink hoop Barrakilla (IRE) 746
Distance Winner
11 12-0 F O'Brien Mr Z Baker 131 1001
8 45-P732 Yellow, red chevron, red and yellow diabolo on sleeves Clues And Arrows (IRE) 13
Course Winner
10 12-0 Miss G Walton Miss J Walton (3) 94 1001
9 F-9PUP6 White, red stars, white and black hooped sleeves Curragh Hall (IRE) 26
10 12-0 t L Humphrey J Nailor (5) 87 1001
10 1322-62 Black, red seams, red sleeves, black armlets, black cap Indigo Island (IRE) 13
9 12-0 R A Owen Miss L M Pinchin (7) 74 1001
11 744/4PP- Dark Green and Beige (quartered), hooped sleeves, check cap Module (FR) 349
Beaten Favourite
11 12-0 T R George Mr N George (5) 134 1001
12 F43-156 Yellow, Black and Yellow striped sleeves, White cap Right Of Reply (IRE) 63
7 12-0 D Skelton Miss G Andrews 114 1001
13 0UP/111- Royal Blue, White striped sleeves Silver Roque (FR) 314
Course WinnerDistance Winner
12 12-0 Mary Vestey Mr S Davies-Thomas (3) 129 1001
15 221-P11 Light Blue, Pink stars, armlets and stars on cap Martha's Benefit (IRE) 256
Distance Winner
9 11-9 Andrew Nicholls Mr W J Milburn (7) 103 1001
Non runners
4241-P31Numbercruncher (IRE)1212-4David O'BrienMr David O'Brien105
14PP23-7FSwift Escape1112-0Miss V CollinsMiss Leanda Tickle


Module was a smart chaser in is his heyday but had become disappointing when last seen. The mares Dabinett Moon and Martha's Benefit are worth a second look, though the former really needs further and the latter lacks a recent run. Barrakilla hasn’t raced in more than two years but is professionally handled so shouldn’t lack match fitness and a case could also be made for Numbercruncher if he was fully wound-up. RIGHT OF REPLY ran in a handicap as recently as December. He finished last but will have benefited from the experience and has had a wind operation since. Hindon Road is the only previous course winner in the line-up but prolific pointer Silver Roque makes more appeal.