Skip to content

Leicester lodge protest

Image: Byrne: Briefly returned to the field after suffering foot injury

Leicester have protested to European Rugby Cup (ERC) after Ospreys briefly had 16 players on the field at the Liberty Stadium.

Tournament rules mean result of match cannot be affected

Leicester have lodged an official protest to European Rugby Cup (ERC) after opponents Ospreys briefly fielded 16 players at the Liberty Stadium. The Tigers slipped to a 17-12 loss in the Pool Three clash, meaning they failed to qualify for the knockout stages of the Heineken Cup. However the Ospreys - who have qualified for the last eight behind group winners Clermont Auvergne - did at one stage have an extra man on the field. Full-back Lee Byrne went back on after initially going off nursing a bloodied foot. Referee Alan Lewis eventually rectified the situation, though not before the home team had played around a minute with a 16th player.

Complaint

Leicester chief executive Peter Wheeler and chairman Peter Tom have now confirmed that a complaint has been made to ERC, although it is understood tournament rules mean the result of the match cannot be affected. "During a significant part of the game, the Ospreys had 16 players on the pitch, and he was involved in a break by Ben Youngs being stopped from developing," Wheeler said. "We think the interference of the 16th man was significant - you are only entitled to have 15 players on the pitch. "We think it affected the outcome of the game. The players put their heart and soul into it out there, and they deserve to be treated fairly." Tom added: "A serious error has been made. We are 12 years or so into the professional game, and it is time administrative procedures were sorted out. "There has been a significant mistake that could be said to have had an impact on the game. People who administer the game have to make sure it doesn't happen again." Tigers coach Richard Cockerill refused to use the issue as an excuse, though, insisting last year's losing finalists were beaten "fair and square". "I am sure they (Ospreys) didn't do it purposely," he said about the 16th player issue. "I don't think it had a bearing on the result. "We were beaten fair and square. I am a lover of the game, and I am sure it was a mistake by somebody. We are out of the tournament. We have to go back, dust ourselves off and cope with the adversity of losing. "It was a good contest, but someone has got to lose, and it was us today. Sometimes you get the luck, sometimes you don't. "Ospreys are a good side with quality throughout. They've got the personnel to win the tournament, but there are some good teams left and Clermont would probably be my favourites."
Confusion
Ospreys counterpart Scott Johnson felt there may have been some confusion over Byrne coming off the field after he had picked up an injury. "This is one for the officials. They can work it out," he said. "There was a call for Lee Byrne to come on and 'X' to come off - that was the instruction. "Byrne came off as a blood bin, and maybe that's where the confusion was. You just give instructions as a coach." On his team's progress in the competition, Johnson added: "We are glad to get out of this group. "There is a great history in sport of sides being successful who come out of tough pools. "The defence in the last 15 minutes was as tough as anything you would get in international rugby. The last two weeks (Ospreys have played Leicester and Clermont) have been of Test match intensity."