WATCH: Did Liverpool striker Christian Benteke 'dive' against Crystal Palace?
Last Updated: 07/03/16 1:47pm
Liverpool beat Crystal Palace 2-1 on Sunday, but did striker Christian Benteke 'dive' to earn his side a late penalty? The Sky Sports pundits discuss...
The match at Selhurst Park appeared to be heading for a draw until Benteke was awarded a penalty in stoppage time after a challenge from Palace defender Damien Delaney.
Referee Andre Marriner did not immediately point to the spot, before being persuaded to award a penalty on the advice of his assistant, with the Belgian making no mistake from 12 yards to hand the visitors the win.
However, after the game Palace boss Alan Pardew claimed Benteke was "looking for it", a verdict the Super Sunday panel disagreed with.
"Yes 100 per cent, as soon as I saw it," said Jamie Carragher, when asked if it was a penalty. "It is a stupid decision to dive in and it was not there initially, but he just clipped his right knee on Benteke's left ankle and it is a penalty. It is not the initial challenge, but the follow through.
"I do not even think there is debate. I think when you are running at that pace and you have been clipped. He could have stayed up…"
Meanwhile, Thierry Henry initially thought Benteke had 'dived', before changing his opinion and agreeing with Carragher's view.
"I will be honest, I did not think it was a penalty, but in all fairness it was," said the former Arsenal striker.
"We were all wondering why he went down so late, but as you can see there is contact. The only thing I always say about defenders is that if you commit yourself like that in the box, there is no rule that says the striker must stand up."
Watch the above video to make up your own mind..