Skip to content

Ref Watch: Tottenham pair Erik Lamela and Jan Vertonghen should have been booked for fouls

Erik Lamela fouled Cesc Fabregas during Tottenham's win at Chelsea
Image: Erik Lamela fouled Cesc Fabregas during Tottenham's win at Chelsea, but was not booked

Dermot Gallagher returns to cast his eye over the big refereeing decisions this weekend and says Tottenham pair Erik Lamela and Jan Vertonghen should have been booked for their respective fouls.

The Premier League came roaring back into action after the international break and it all kicked off in a busy game for Liverpool, who beat Crystal Palace 2-1 on Saturday.

There were seven other games that day before a Super Sunday double header, which included incidents in a 3-0 win for Arsenal against Stoke and Tottenham's 3-1 win at Chelsea.

Read on to see what Dermot made of some of the weekend's calls...

Chelsea 1-3 Tottenham

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Chelsea 1-3 Tottenham

INCIDENT: As Cesc Fabregas tries to get away down the wing, Erik Lamela tackles him but does not get the ball, catching the Chelsea midfielder on the ankle. He did not receive a booking for the challenge.

DERMOT'S VERDICT: Incorrect decision.

DERMOT SAYS: I think we've seen a number of tackles this weekend, this one in particular, where they should be punished more severely. What I would say in Lamela's favour is that he is very, very close to getting the ball, he treads on the ankle, but he doesn't come at speed and he doesn't come from distance to leave the ground. However, I think it is certainly a yellow card. It is definitely not 'play on'.

Also See:

Problems viewing video?

Tap on the VIDEO section of the app if you are having problems viewing match highlights.

On another day, maybe it is a red - although nothing was given - but it has to be sanctioned, it is not play on. It has to be punished with a yellow card maybe.

Chelsea 1-3 Tottenham

INCIDENT: As Eden Hazard was moving forward through a sea of bodies, Jan Vertonghen went to challenge but his lunge to get the ball saw him catch the Chelsea forward on the leg with his foot. Again, there was no booking from the referee.

DERMOT'S VERDICT: Incorrect decision.

LIVERPOOL, SEP 09, 2017:  Jan Vertonghen of Tottenham Hotspur during the Premier League match between Everton and Tottenham Hotspur at Goodison Park.
Image: Jan Vertonghen should also have received a booking, says Dermot Gallagher

DERMOT SAYS: When you see it at speed, I'd say no but when you see it again, he is lunging and going for the ball, but he catches him - similar to Lamela. He hasn't come from a long way or with speed and intensity. As with the first one, I thought it was a yellow card.

There were a few tackles over the weekend where the referee played on, maybe it was the break and people didn't feel up to speed but that should be identified as a foul and dealt with.

Crystal Palace 1-2 Liverpool

INCIDENT: Sadio Mane is clipped by James McArthur in the area, and goes down theatrically but rather than a penalty awarded, he is booked for simulation. Later in the game, he is fouled on the edge of the area and picks up the ball from around the feet of Andros Towsend and Yohan Cabaye just before the referee blew his whistle, although did not receive a second booking.

DERMOT'S VERDICT: First decision correct but second decision incorrect.

Sadio Mane is booked during Liverpool's win at Crystal Palace
Image: Sadio Mane is booked during Liverpool's win at Crystal Palace, but should he have seen a second?

DERMOT SAYS: I think he should have been booked for simulation. There was great debate over this on Saturday and he does get a little nick, there is no doubt about that, but there isn't enough to send him over like he did. The trailing leg does come in and nick him and what he does afterwards sells it to the referee or the assistant probably gives it judging on where the referee is who is in the wrong position to see it, but between them, they made the right decision to give it as simulation.

I think he should have seen a second yellow card. Just before, I think he was fouled but when he grabs the ball, the only two players who can get the ball are Towsend or Cabaye and they are right on the edge of the penalty area. At that point, he has stopped Crystal Palace attacking and I think the referee is duty bound to give a second yellow card which ultimately would have seen him dismissed.

Ref Watch: Mane should have seen red

Ref Watch: Mane should have seen red

In a Ref Watch special, Dermot Gallagher says Sadio Mane should have been sent off against Crystal Palace.

Crystal Palace 1-2 Liverpool

INCIDENT: Wilfried Zaha is chasing down a cross into the box and as he goes up to control the ball, Liverpool goalkeeper Loris Karius comes off his line and clatters into the Crystal Palace forward. The home side are awarded a penalty and Karius is booked.

DERMOT'S VERDICT: Correct decision.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Crystal Palace 1-2 Liverpool

DERMOT SAYS: I think this was a right call all around. The goalkeeper has come out and it's reckless, there's no doubt about that, he can't win the ball so it's a foul and a penalty. The next judgement is if he has denied a clear goal scoring opportunity and the answer is no. One of the criteria is he has to be in possession of the ball and able to control it, but the ball went into the air so it rubs that out and it is a yellow card.

Arsenal 3-0 Stoke

INCIDENT: In the 75th minute, Bruno Martins Indi appeared to clip Mesut Ozil as the Arsenal forward made his way into the box, leading to referee Craig Pawson to point to the spot.

DERMOT'S VERDICT: Incorrect decision.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Arsenal 3-0 Stoke

DERMOT SAYS: My first reaction was that it was a penalty and I can understand why the referee has given it, but when you see it again, Martins Indi definitely gets the ball and then Ozil goes into the back of him. It is not a penalty unfortunately, but from where the referee was and what I saw first of all, I can understand why he gave it but it was 100 per cent wrong.

Arsenal 3-0 Stoke

INCIDENT: Just before the 90-minute mark, Badou Ndiaye tracks Alexandre Lacazette into the box and barges him in the back to send the Arsenal striker to the floor. A penalty is awarded.

DERMOT'S VERDICT: Correct decision.

DERMOT SAYS: This one is 100 per cent a penalty. There is no need for Ndiaye to do it, Lacazette has nowhere to go with the ball and for some reason, he barges him in the back. You watch it and you have no idea why he does it. I've seen so many of them this season and every one has been given as a penalty, fortunately.

Monday's Super 6

Monday's Super 6

There's another £250,000 up for grabs on Easter Monday. Enter your predictions for free here.

Around Sky