La Liga's past last-day drama ahead of Barcelona and Real Madrid battling it out

As Barcelona look to fend off the challenge of Real Madrid this weekend to claim a 24th La Liga crown, we look back at past last-day drama.

Barca, a point ahead of Real in the standings, go to Granada at 4pm on Saturday, live on Sky Sports 4 HD with coverage starting at 3.30pm, while Real Madrid are at Deportivo, coverage starting at 3.55pm, on Sky Sports 3 HD.

With the head-to-head record separating sides rather than goal difference, Barca's superior record over Real this season (5-2 on aggregate) means Zinedine Zidane's side must win and hope Barca draw or lose to take the title.

La Liga final day on Sky

La Liga final day on Sky

Sky Sports will bring you the final day live as Real Madrid and Barcelona battle it out.

Sounds simple enough? Nothing is set in stone, and these examples prove it...

1991/92 - Cruyff's first title

Under the stewardship of Johan Cruyff, Barca were looking to defend La Liga for the first time following years of Real Madrid dominance.

Going into the final game of the season, the Catalans needed a win against Athletic Bilbao and hope that Real lost against Tenerife, but when the islanders fell 2-0 down, it looked all over.

Also See:

Barcelona manager Johan Cruyff (1992)
Image: Johan Cruyff's second title as Barcelona manager came in dramatic fashion

However, a stunning Tenerife comeback, sealed by Pier Luigi Cherubino's stunning long-range winner for 3-2, was paired with Barca's 2-0 win over Athletic to hand advantage to Cruyff and co.

It was one of the most dramatic finales to a European season, and Barcelona went on to win another two titles in 1993 and 1994.

1993/94 - The missed penalty

Cruyff's fourth straight La Liga title in charge of Barcelona also went down to the wire; Barca needed to chase down Deportivo, who knew a win at home against Valencia would send it their way.

Barcelona hosted Sevilla at the Nou Camp, and despite falling behind twice to goals from none other than Diego Simeone and Davor Suker, they eventually did their bit by winning 5-2.

Depor's clash was 0-0 going into the final minute, meaning the title was heading to Barcelona on a head-to-head record, but when Valencia's second goalkeeper Jose Gonzalez fouled Nando in the box, it looked like heartbreak for Cruyff and his side.

VOTE: Goal of the season

VOTE: Goal of the season

Watch 12 of the top strikes here and vote for your favourite...

But big Serbian defender Miroslav Djukic rolled his spot-kick into the hands of Gonzalez, cue pandemonium back at the Nou Camp. 

2006/07 - Beckham's title at last

Despite being ahead for the majority of the campaign, Barcelona were to surrender their lead in the final two weeks of the season to rivals Real Madrid, giving David Beckham his much-coveted La Liga crown.

Barca drew 2-2 with Espanyol on the penultimate weekend, meaning Real just had to beat Mallorca on the final day to clinch the title on head-to-head superiority.

MADRID, SPAIN - JUNE 17:  David Beckham of Real Madrid celebrates after Real won the Primera Liga after the Primera Liga match between Real Madrid and Mall
Image: David Beckham won his only La Liga title in 2007

They went 1-0 down early on at the Bernabeu, and that's how it stayed until the 68th minute before Jose Anotnio Reyes' equaliser.

Mahamadou Diarra put Real ahead and Reyes added another with eight minutes remaining to send the title to the capital.

2013/14 - Atletico stun the Nou Camp

Atletico fell at the weekend in Levante to make it a two-horse race, but the memory of their 2014 title win lives long in the memory. 

Diego Simeone the coach of Club Atletico Madrid celebrates towards his supporters after winning the La Liga after the match with Barcelona
Image: Diego Simeone celebrates Atletico's title win in 2014

For the first time since 1951, the title came down to a head-to-head match between Atletico and Barcelona at the Nou Camp, with Diego Simeone's side needing a point to clinch it. 

Barca took a 1-0 lead in the first half through Alexis Sanchez's stunning strike, and all seemed calm among the Catalans until Diego Godin's 49th-minute header earned Atletico their first title in 18 years. It was the first time since 2004 that neither Barca or Real had claimed the title.

Around Sky