Skip to content

Ref Watch: Ashley Young handball missed, says Dermot Gallagher

 during the Premier League match between Manchester United and Newcastle United at Old Trafford on October 6, 2018 in Manchester, United Kingdom.
Image: Jose Mourinho led Manchester United to a 3-2 win - but were they fortunate?

Were Newcastle unfortunate at Old Trafford? Did Martin Atkinson get all the big calls right in the heavyweight clash between Liverpool and Manchester City? Dermot Gallagher has the answers.

Other big incidents included Joe Ralls' red card at Wembley which angered Cardiff boss Neil Warnock and a potential foul in the build-up to Chelsea's goal in their victory over Southampton.

So what did our resident expert make of those - and many more - contentious calls? Dermot spoke to Sky Sports News on all the biggest incidents of the weekend...

Man Utd 3-2 Newcastle

INCIDENT: With Newcastle 2-0 up at Old Trafford, Jonjo Shelvey whips a free-kick into the box that hits Ashley Young's arm as he goes to block it. Referee Anthony Taylor incorrectly awards a goal-kick and waves away penalty appeals.

VERDICT: Wrong call, it's a clear penalty.

DERMOT SAYS: It raises an interesting point. The referees are going to have to think about where to stand for a free-kick. His priority is what is going on in the box - is there going to be a foul? I think the learning point is to try and find a different angle so you can see both the free-kick and what's going on in the box.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Dermot Gallagher feels Newcastle were unfortunate not to get a penalty at Old Trafford after a handball by Ashley Young

Liverpool 0-0 Man City

INCIDENT: Early in the game Sergio Aguero controls a loose ball inside the area and Dejan Lovren clumsily waves a leg in his direction. Aguero hits the deck but gets up quickly and no penalty is awarded.

Also See:

VERDICT: Wrong call - it's a penalty.

DERMOT SAYS: I thought it was a penalty - and I still do. Lots of my colleagues don't think it was. It's split a lot of people and that's what some calls in football are like. I don't think Lovren gets the ball but with Aguero popping up so quickly, I wonder if that gives the impression to the referee that Lovren got the ball.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Dejan Lovren's clumsy tackle on Sergio Aguero should’ve been given as a penalty, says Dermot Gallagher

INCIDENT: Leroy Sane takes on Virgil van Dijk and the defender makes a rash challenge near the by-line. A penalty is awarded.

VERDICT: Ref got it spot on.

DERMOT SAYS: It's definitely a penalty. As Martin Atkinson has got older he's realised he has to get around the pitch differently - he reads the game so well that he can get into the right positions to make the big decisions. Being in the right position aided this decision.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

The Sky Sports studio panel discuss the penalty incident at Anfield

Tottenham 1-0 Cardiff

INCIDENT: Lucas Moura accelerates past Cardiff's Joe Ralls and the midfield completely takes him out with the ball about five yards away. A red card is given.

VERDICT: Correct call.

DERMOT SAYS: I don't think the referee had any other option. The ball is so far away from Joe Ralls. He never once looks at the ball. It's just a red card. Harry Kane got a yellow card and the referee in that situation will be looking for the perpetrator and then the guy that comes in from distance. He's identified the original foul and then the aftermath.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Joe Ralls was dismissed for this wild lunge on Lucas Moura

Southampton 0-3 Chelsea

INCIDENT: Chelsea score the all-important second goal through Ross Barkley. However, David Luiz blocks off a Southampton player in the build-up.

VERDICT: Foul, but understandable why it's been missed.

DERMOT SAYS: It's a foul. The referee can't see the David Luiz incident, so it's down to the linesman. But he's got two decisions to make with the offside calls in the middle, so he doesn't see the block. It's a forgivable miss as he's got two other priorities.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Highlights from Chelsea's win against Southampton in the Premier League

Leeds 1-1 Brentford

INCIDENT: Ollie Watkins charges through on goal and wins a penalty after being caught by goalkeeper Bailey Peacock-Farrell.

VERDICT: Correct call.

DERMOT SAYS: Every referee will give a penalty in that situation. Someone said to me he's already going down but the goalkeeper has come out legs first and he's run the risk. He gave the referee an easy decision to make.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Dermot Gallagher says Leeds can have no complaints about the penalty awarded against Brentford
Play Super 6
Play Super 6

Jeff gave away £1.5m last month. Enter your predictions to be the next winner here.

Around Sky