Skip to content

Luka Modric wins FIFA award for best men's player

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric is named the best men’s player at the FIFA best awards

Luka Modric beat Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to win the best men's player award at the FIFA Best awards.

Modric took the honour following another success-laden season with Real Madrid, in which he helped the club to another Champions League victory for a third consecutive season.

His World Cup campaign also earned many plaudits, after playing a crucial role in guiding Croatia to their first final and winning the Golden Ball.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Modric can't believe he has won the FIFA award for best men's player

Ronaldo was also heavily tipped for the award after winning his the fifth European title of his career last season, though was not present at the ceremony due to an upcoming midweek fixture with his new club Juventus.

In his acceptance speech Modric paid tribute to his hero Zvonimir Boban, captain of the 1998 Croatian side who excelled in France to finish third in the World Cup.

Mateo Kovacic and Luka Modric celebrate with the Champions League trophy in 2017
Image: The midfielder was also crucial in Real Madrid winning a third consecutive Champions League title

"He was my big inspiration and that team gave us belief that we could achieve something great in Russia. Hopefully we can be the same for next generations," said Modric.

"This award shows that we all can become the best with hard work, dedication and belief. All dreams can come true."

Also See:

Luka Modric during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Final between France and Croatia at Luzhniki Stadium on July 15, 2018 in Moscow, Russia.
Image: Modric excelled at the Russia World Cup and guided his side to their first ever final

The best FIFA women's player award was given to Brazil international Marta, after impressive displays with both her national side and club team Orlando Pride.

Earlier in the evening, Salah had been awarded the FIFA Puskas award for his solo strike in the Merseyside derby against Everton, in which he weaved through the defence to curl the ball into the top corner.

Former Chelsea man Thibaut Courtois was awarded the best goalkeeper award, after his Golden Glove-winning World Cup tournament with Belgium.

France boss Didier Deschamps picked up the best manager award after guiding his nation to their second World Cup victory.

Around Sky